monkey see, monkey do

March 27, 2008 at 9:33 am | Posted in Dessert, Dinner | 3 Comments

Pinch my Salt sparked my banana roll creativity yesterday!

I added mini chocolate chips to the roll dough and a bit of cinnamon to the cream cheese filling, and then dusted with cocoa! I must say the chocolate banana combination is very yum.

It’s amazing what two ripe bananas can convince me to make! But it is also important to note than when Pinch My salt says leave the roll in the towel for one hour, LISTEN! I unwrapped mine after a half hour.. ( 😦 someone needed to cure their sugar fix…) and it nearly split apart in two places and then re-rolling with the filling was a little tricky since alot of the filling seemed to be pushed out as I went along. Needless to say the whole thing went into the freezer for a half hour and when I unrolled, it was just fine!!!

Laura and I also had a lovely dinner…

More sauteed salmon in “clarified” butter with S&P, some simple peas and for the lovely starch I tried/adapted a Cook’s Country recipe.

Garlicky Oven Fries

5 cloves garlic minced
6tablespoons olive oil
4 Russet potatoes scrubbed and cut into wedges
2 tbs cornstarch
1 1/2 tsp salt
3/4 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder

and 1 tbsp rosemary! cause I love you rosemary!!

Set the oven rack to the lowest position possible and heat oven to 475. Combine garlic and oil in large bowl and microwave until garlic is fragrant, about 1 min. Transfer 5 tbs oil (leaving garlic in bowl) to rimmed and lined baking sheet turning sheet to coat.

Add potatoes to bowl with remaining oil mixture and toss to coat. Wrap tightly with plastic wrap and microwave on high until potatoes are translucent around the edges, 3-6 minutes, shaking bowl to redistribute potatoes halfway through cooking time.

Combine cornstarch salt pepper and garlic powder in small bowl. Sprinkle over hot potatoes and toss to coat (you need a big bowl for this…much bigger than the one I used). Arrange potatoes in single layer on prepared baking sheet and bake turning once until brown and crisp— 40 min.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great idea adding mini chocolate chips! I love the combination of chocolate and banana! Thanks so much for posting about it πŸ™‚

  2. Dangerously delicious sounding combination. Yum!

  3. πŸ˜€


Leave me something sweet!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

