bissy day cake

April 9, 2008 at 10:03 am | Posted in Dessert | 3 Comments

Since Dad came over for dinner and I had ten minutes to spare while dinner was cooking I figured I could whip up some kind of dessert (in order to have a proper lovely little feast) in the meantime!

I have an ancient cookbook that my mom presumably got as a wedding present and every once in a while I take a gander!

I was looking in the cake section and found the “Busy Day Cake” and it had like 6 ingredients and a short directions list so I was sold! I told my dad I was making this cake and he misheard me and thought I was pronouncing my nickname (given to me at age 2 by my dear cousin martha, age 1!) + day cake, alas my title!

Well it is scrumptious and to top it off I made a cream cheese and chocolate frosting! 😀

Cake Ingredients:
1/3 cup shortening
1.5 cup flour
3.4 cup sugar
2.5 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup skim milk
1 egg
1.5 tsp vanilla

Frosting Ingredients:
4 oz cream cheese
1/2 cup of chocolate
1/2 cup powdered sugar
+ ground up chocolate wafer for extra decoration

Directions:
1) Grease a 9×9 pan and preheat oven to 375 deg.
2) Place shortening in small mixer bowl, add flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.
3) Then add half of the milk, egg and vanilla. Mix at low speed until it all combines.
4) Then beat the mixture at medium speed for 2 minutes, scrape down sides of bowl, add rest of milk.
5) Beat again for 2 minutes and then add to pan.
6) Bake for 25 minutes, and in the meantime (aka after we scarfed down dinner) make the frosting!
7) Since my cream cheese was still cold from the fridge I decided to do a double boiler and “melt” the cream cheese while whisking. Add the chocolate and mix until it melts.
Eight) Take off heat and mix in powdered sugar until well combined.
9) Once cake is done let it rest on a wire rack for 10 minutes before topping with frosting.
10) The frosting liked to stick to the cake and try to come up with the cake while I was smoothing it around, but it cooperated enough to make it pretty…then add cookie crumbs for extra chocolately goodness!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. ancient!!! I was a bridesmaid at that wedding!! I don’t want to be ancient!!

    looks yummy though….

  2. haha!! That cookbook is “ancient” but I still love you auntie!

  3. […] (actually first) dessert of the weekend was this Busy Day Cake I made! The cake recipe can be seen here, but the frosting was a new […]


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

