dry rubbed memphis ribs

May 4, 2008 at 7:50 pm | Posted in Dinner | 1 Comment

Some of my family is out of town visiting Chicago for my cousin Mag’s lacrosse finals, so we are watching the young one in the family! Grandma concocted the idea to get ribs for our sunday dinner, but I said Heck! I can make them just as easy! I went to wegmans and got three racks! This is my old recipe from Dave Lieberman.

and now I am stuffed….and after eating one of the last cheesecake pops!!

Ingredients:
9 pounds spare ribs
1 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
5 teaspoons ground cumin
10 teaspoons paprika
5 teaspoons dry oregano
5 teaspoons sugar
5 teaspoons salt
100 grinds fresh black pepper
15 tablespoons vegetable oil

Directions:
1) Preheat over to 300 degrees F.
2) Mix the rub ingredients together well in a medium bowl.
3) Remove the membrane from the bone side of the ribs: (Bob, my cousin, the chef showed me and grandma!) Score the back of the ribs with a paring knife and then get a paper towel and rip the membrane off along the whole thing!
4)Rub the vegetable oil onto the ribs. Pour the rub over the ribs and work the rub fully and evenly into the ribs. Spread the ribs out evenly on a foil-lined baking sheet.
5)Bake until tender and juicy on the inside and crispy on the outside, about 2 1/2 hours.
6) Sporadically (2 or 3 times during cooking) pour KC Masterpiece and/or Dinosaur Barbecue sauce over the ribs and spread around with a spoon.

In the past when I have made these I have always used the Rochester famous Dinosaur Barbecue sauce. But when I saw grandma dipping her ribs into the KC masterstuff I thought I would try and I was hooked! It really reminds me of my travels to Kansas City last September for my old job, and boy is it tasty. No more NY (cause yankees suck anyway), stick with the Kansas City pros!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have a craving for BBQ ribs these days…my guilty pleasure after chocolate and lemon! They look incredible!


Leave me something sweet!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

