Chicken with Morels-Barefoot Style

June 19, 2008 at 12:54 pm | Posted in Dinner | 4 Comments

Here is my lovely dinner from Monday night! Definitely a treat! Wegmans blessed me with fresh morels and I graciously obliged!

and I promise there are morels in there! This recipe comes courtesy of Ina from Barefoot in Paris! This is the third time I have made this chicken dish and it NEVER lets me down. 😀 And the roasted rosemary & garlic potatoes, and fresh sauteed peas from the Waverly Farmer’s Market were delicious too!

Ingredients:

10 fresh morels
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
Kosher salt
Freshly ground black pepper
All-purpose flour, for dredging
1 tbsp butter & olive oil
1 small onion, chopped finely
1 clove minced garlic
1/3 cup Madeira wine
1 ounce of cream cheese, softened helps
1/3 cup heavy cream
1 tablespoon lemon juice

Directions:
1)Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Rinse the morels with cold water and dry the morels lightly with paper towels. Chop into 1 inch pieces and set aside.
2)Sprinkle the chicken breasts with salt and pepper. Dredge them in flour and shake off the excess. Heat half the olive oil and butter in a large saute pan (I used my dutch oven) and cook the chicken over medium-low heat until browned on both sides, 8 to 10 minutes. Remove to a plate.
3)Add the rest of the olive oil + butter to the pan along with the onions, chopped morels, and garlic. Saute over medium heat for 2 minutes, tossing and stirring constantly.
4)Pour the Madeira into the pan and reduce the liquid by half over high heat, 1 minute.
5)Add the cream cheese, cream, lemon juice, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper. Boil until the mixture starts to thicken, 5 minutes.
6)Put the chicken back into the pot and spoon the sauce over the chicken and bake for 8 minutes, or until the chicken is heated through.

For the potatoes, I rinsed three russets and cut into wedges. Coat well with 1/3 cup olive oil, s&p, and 2 tbsp minced rosemary and 1 minced garlic clove. Roast for 1 hour at 400 degrees, turning once!

For the peas, I took a bit of the onion&garlic from the chicken recipe and sauteed that in 1 tbsp butter then sauteed the fresh peas for 5 minutes over low heat!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Peas and limas…you don’t want to be sitting around me if they end up on my plate or in my soup. I have been known to flick them across the room with my spoon. Otherwise all else looks yummy.

  2. haha Dara! Good to know about the heads up!

  3. This looks delicious and so does the couer a la creme. Good inspiration!

  4. […] tasty dip I have ever encountered. For the main course I went to my standard entertaining dish, Chicken with Morels. The fact that my friend’s were literally licking their plates after this course and the fact […]


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

