beach sweets!!!

June 26, 2008 at 9:14 pm | Posted in Dessert, Travels | 4 Comments

Ah the classic sweets of a summer beach visit…

First and foremost is a ritual in my family and Stephanie’s – Fisher’s Popcorn. Now you can see the popcorn is all gone, but believe me! It is FANTASTIC.

Next- Saturday night we ventured out for a night on the town after a nice long day of running, shopping, and beaching! We found this ice cream shop (Maureen’s) in Bethany and could not have been happier! Steph got the key lime ice cream and I got the chocolate chip with sprinkles, PINK sprinkles!!! πŸ˜€

The last and (actually first) dessert of the weekend was this Busy Day Cake I made! The cake recipe can be seen here, but the frosting was a new creation.

For the frosting, I melted 4 oz of cream cheese over a double boiler, added a cup of confectionery sugar, and a 2/3 cup of the raspberry sauce and mixed it well with my hand mixer. I frosted the cake and made sure to keep it all refridgerated (the frosting is not exactly solid at room temperature…). It looked like it was going to be a weird frosting but it worked out nicely!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. If I wasn’t so swamped trying to get ready for New York I would have made this cake, today, on the spot. It looks like the “moist” yellow cake that has become my obsession – now I have to wait. If it is what I’m look for then I owe you something special.

    Dining Dish (aka Dara)

  2. Love candy popcorn! I’d rather eat that than roll dough πŸ™‚

  3. I will be at the beach in 3 weeks. I can’t wait to get some Fisher’s! (all the others are imposters)

  4. OMG Fischer’s! I could eat a whole tub of it if given the chance. Last summer we had a beach-themed bridal shower and we ordered Fischer’s to be mailed to us so the party could be truly beachy! It worked out great – I recommend ordering it if you really want the popcorn but can’t make it to the shore.


Leave me something sweet!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

