Chicago Tour of Foooood

September 22, 2008 at 11:42 pm | Posted in Travels | 8 Comments

Yay! My 100th post! This past weekend my sister and I went to the amazing metropolis in the midwest- CHICAGO!! We ate, we partied and boy did we have fun!

Check out our eats below!

First stop Thursday was Portillos!

My airplane seatmate recommended the beef and cheese on croissant and wowsa! Delish! Screw hot dogs! And with those crinkle fries?? Yay for greasy chicago food.

Friday was spent venturing through the major art museums. After the contemporary art museum (JEFF KOONS ROCKS!) we stopped at Pizzeria Due for lunch! We then continued on to the Art Institute where the miniature room definitely dazzled! We both got the individual deep dishes.

This is the Spinoccoli- ‘Spinach, fresh broccoli, a blend of cheeses, a little garlic and chunky tomato.’ The cheese, broccoli and nice bready crust were my favorite parts.

Laurita went with the classic Numero Uno option – ‘Extra cheese, an abundance of fresh sausage, just the right amount of pepperoni… and fresh mushrooms, onions and green peppers.’ She ate that baby right up!

Saturday night we went all out and hit up Home Bistro, this dinner was so amazing, it definitely deserved its own post!

Our last significant foodie stop was Sunday brunch at Couture Crepe in Lincoln Park to meet up with my buddy P. This place is rather chi chi but they make a mean fresh squeezed orange juice and I got the french toast crepe. Beautiful presentation and perfectly delicious.

Chicago is definitely in my top three cities in the world! (Other than Bawlmer and Paris!) I cannot wait to go back again very soon!

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dude, NYC is way better than Chicago, just for the pizza alone. That thing you have up there with the high sides? That looks like a quiche. That is NOT pizza.

  2. ah ha ha! You are correct…it is quiche reminiscent. πŸ™‚ Pizza can be good BOTH ways you New Yorker, you!

  3. Congrats on your 100th post!

    Chicago food looks good. I’ve never really been. It’s on my list. So many places are on my list…

  4. YAY! Congrats! I love Chicago and every single place where we ate was briliantly great!

  5. Wow! I would love to make photos like yours. I am looking around at digital cameras and find there are so many choices. What kind of camera (and model number) do you use? Can you suggest any other equipment? Thanks.

    Fabulous photos!

  6. I miss Chicago sooooo much! I’m glad you had a good time!

  7. Congrats on the 100th entry! That is awesome! Dates wrapped in bacon are probably the best thing ever – I do agree!

  8. Chicago has much much much better pizza than NY! You’ve made me homesick.


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

