Jacques Torres’ Chocolate Chip Cookies

October 28, 2008 at 9:45 am | Posted in Dessert | 8 Comments

Today’s deliciousness stemmed from the fact that it’s one of my boss’s birthday and I really wanted to use my new fleur de sel! Ever since I heard about the hyped up chocolate chip cookie “controversy” on the New York Times this summer, I have always had this recipe in the back of my mind. Well- believe the hype! πŸ˜€ – these cookies are worth it.

The recipe can also be found here, but check it out below!

Ingredients:
2 cups minus 2 tablespoons cake flour
1 2/3 cups bread flour
1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons coarse salt
2 1/2 sticks unsalted butter
1 1/4 cups light brown sugar
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons natural vanilla extract
7 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips
Sea salt.

Directions:

1. Sift flours, baking soda, baking powder and salt into a bowl. Set aside.

2. Using a mixer fitted with paddle attachment, cream butter and sugars together until very light, about 5 minutes. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Stir in the vanilla. Reduce speed to low, add dry ingredients and mix until just combined, 5 to 10 seconds. Drop chocolate pieces in and incorporate them without breaking them. Press plastic wrap against dough and refrigerate for 24 to 36 hours. Dough may be used in batches, and can be refrigerated for up to 72 hours.

3. When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a nonstick baking mat. Set aside.

4. Scoop 6 3 1/2-ounce (or almost the whole batch!) mounds of dough (the size of generous golf balls- I did a little smaller than a golf ball) onto baking sheet. Sprinkle lightly with sea salt and bake until golden brown but still soft, ~16 minutes. Transfer sheet to a wire rack for 10 minutes, then slip cookies onto another rack to cool a bit more. Repeat with remaining dough, or reserve dough, refrigerated, for baking remaining batches the next day. Eat warm, with a big napkin.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I just made these last week! They were divinely good! Mmmmm now I want some more.

  2. I want details on how yours came out!!!

  3. YUM! I love all things chocolate chip…and jacques torres chocolate is scary-good!

  4. […] gratitude! I figured that everyone likes chocolate chip cookies and I remembered this divine recipe I made last year, so I whipped up a big batch on Sunday and finished my packages on Monday night! […]

  5. […] be “Org**mic!” A white chocolate macadamia nut salted cookie! I used the jacques torres recipe to make the dough and then just substituted for the chocolate chips. Oh and I used some nice pink […]

  6. […] been the best in the lot. A white chocolate macadamia nut salted cookie! I used the jacques torres recipe to make the dough and then just substituted white chips for the chocolate chips. The use of my pink […]

  7. […] This next one is a forever Christmas cookie for me. Meaning, I will be making these every year til the day I die. (wow Elizabeth, way to make your cookie post sound creepy…) White chocolate macadamia nut cookies with pink Hawaiian sea salt on top. I wish this batch hadn’t been so crunchy… rather chewy. Either way, they are awesome. ~recipe~ […]

  8. […] filled evening tonight. 120 to be exact! A double batch of this NY Times recipe. Which I have made here and here. It has kinda become a staple “favor” recipe for me and people go bonkers for […]


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

