Sopa de Pollo para el día de elección

November 4, 2008 at 3:55 pm | Posted in Dinner | 3 Comments

Now this wonderful chicken soup isn’t particularly Mexican. It’s just the recipe abuelita has used forever! Scotty generously made it for his friends that just moved into their house and that motivated me to give it a try! For some reason every Sunday I have the urge to make soup. So I went for it and it came out perfectly!

This soup would be perfect for such an important night as tonight! Whatever happens with the election, feel good food is definitely in need for all!

We ate some on Sunday night (alas the lovely picture shown above…) and then discovered the excess of noodles I chose to use had congealed on Monday! Abuelita told me to use 1 cup of noodles when she was explaining the recipe, but when I was finishing off the recipe and looked at my HUGE pot of soup I thought why not just use the whole box of pasta! BUNG! (…thats the sound of me hitting my head with a frying pan…) Next time I make this it will be better!

Ingredients:
1- 1lb chicken (not the roasting kind), rinsed
3 carrots, peeled and chopped
4 celery stalks, chopped
1/2 tsp celery seed
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp dried parsley
1 bay leaf
2 shallots, minced
1 tsp pepper
2 tbsp salt
1 CUP of mini farfalle pasta

Directions:

1) Heat up 6(?) qts of water (enough to cover the chicken) in a large stew pot and add all ingredients except pasta! Bring to a boil and simmer for 1 hour.
2) Once done simmering, turn off the heat and let the pot rest for 1 hour.
3) Remove the chicken from the pot and peel off skin. Then pull all the good pieces of meat from the carcass and place back into the pot.
4) Bring pot back to a boil and add pasta. Allow pot to cook for ~5 minutes. Remove from heat, allow to cool for a bit and then serve into bowls. Adjust seasoning if necessary.
(I think I went wrong here, maybe you should cook the pasta in its own bowl and then shock it with cold water and then add it to the pot??)

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I agree, when you put in the pasta it seems like way too little, but it seems to grow and grow and sucks up more and more water after it’s done cooking. I do it a little different though. And by I, I mean, my mom.

    I cook the chicken with just the spices first. and also I use different spices and stuff. Celery seed and bay leaf, yes, but I use lots of dried basil, a little garlic powder or salt, and like 12 little boillon cubes. Then once the chicken is cooked I add carrots and onions that cook a little while I pull apart the chicken. And then I add the chicken back and the pasta and bring it to a boil finish it all off.

  2. I like lots of noodles in a soup. It sounds like the trick with this is just to be sure there are no leftover!

  3. This looks wonderful.. the stock/broth is so clear… lovely.

    What I usually do is transport the portions I’m going to serve/eat to a separate pot and add the cooked noodles. For leftover, I make new noodles and add to the soup, once ready to serve.


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

