Whoopee! I’m so pretty…

December 9, 2008 at 5:50 pm | Posted in Dessert, Entertainment | 12 Comments

So I jumped on the beautifying bandwagon and Hannah was there to graciously catch me! That sweet lady was sooo patient with OCD me and is clearly talented and gracefully brought my vision to fruition (strawberry fruition 😀 ).

To celebrate these new fun changes I made whoopee pies! I don’t know if this is authentic whoopee pie recipe- but boy is it delicious. Sweet spongy brownie like cookies smooshing a wallop of gorgeous marshmallow. I think they have become my favorite cookie EVER, and thats coming from the cookie monster! 😛 Also another thing to celebrate was getting tagged by Lucky! Check out the recipe and my responses below!

Ingredients:

2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped
4 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped
1/2 cup unsalted butter (1 stick)
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup natural cocoa powder, such as Hershey’s or Scharffen Berger
1/2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoons fine salt
18 large marshmallows, (not minis)

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicon baking sheet.

2) Put the unsweetened and semisweet chocolates and butter in a medium microwave-safe bowl; heat at 75 percent power until softened, about 2 minutes. Stir, and continue to microwave until completely melted, about 2 minutes more. (Alternatively, put the chocolate and butter in a heatproof bowl. Bring a saucepan filled with an inch or so of water to a very slow simmer; set the bowl over, but not touching the water, and stir occasionally until melted and smooth.)

3) Whisk the sugar, eggs and vanilla into the chocolate mixture until smooth.

4) Sift the flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt into another bowl. Gradually whisk the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until moistened. Switch to a rubber spatula and finish folding the batter together; take care not to over-mix.

5) Use a small cookie scoop or spoon to drop a heaping tablespoon of batter onto the prepared pan. Repeat to make 36 cookies, spacing them about 1-inch apart. Bake until the cookies spring back when lightly touched, about 6 minutes.

6) Cool the cookies slightly. Transfer half of the cookies to a rack. Turn the remaining cookies on the pan over, so they lay flat side up. Place a marshmallow on top of each flipped cookie and return pan to the oven. Cook just until the marshmallow begins to soften and puff, about 3 minutes. Cool marshmallow topped cookies slightly, about 2 minutes. Top with the remaining cookies, pressing lightly to make sandwiches. Cool whoopee pies completely on wire racks. Serve.

(Store in tightly sealed container for up to 1 week.)

Creative and fabulous Lucky tagged me for this fun exercise in vanity! Here goes nothing…
1) I HATE coconut. My sister and grandmother could eat the stuff and smear it all over themselves to their hearts content- but it makes me sick! Ned thinks its the texture..he’s probably right…
2) My favorite cereal growing up was wheat chex. WHEAT CHEX! No sugar crazy concoction for me, no no- health food for sure :P!
3) My favorite movie in the world has to be Clueless. Now that I’m growing up I don’t like to play the dumb (brunette) card anymore (since ahem, I am a master degreed chemist), but something about that movie strikes a wonderful chord in me.
4) When I was growing up my 5 younger cousins and I LOVED to play town. We set up a post office, restaurant, hotel and bank. And creative 12 year old me made the bank “building” equipped with “working” ATM machine out of a refrigerator box!
5) I am in no way shape or form a cat person. Had Maubee dog for 16 years and now we have sweet Peta and I love em!
6) This one isn’t quirky and unspectacular but its the darn truth: I am so happy I started this blog and have met the most wonderful people because of it. My life has changed dramatically in the past year and I am incredibly thankful for the people who have been with me on this ride. 😀

Now here comes the tagging!
1) Julie– The sweet lady who brought me into the wonderful world of Baltimore food blogging!
2) Renee– A new blogging friend who I am very excited to hang out with more often!
3) Joann– In the same realm as Renee- a new blogging friend!
4) Rose– creative and quirky this girl’s daily blogging dose is very fun to read!
5) Jackie-a new fun Baltimore blogging acquaintance!
6) Hannah– my beautifying artiste!

Here are the rules:
* Mention the rules on your blog.
* Tell six quirky yet boring, unspectacular details about yourself.
* Tag six others
* Go to each person’s blog and leave a comment that lets them know they are tagged.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I like the new look! It’s tres chic 🙂

    And aren’t whoopie pies tasty?!?

  2. Beautiful! it made me smile….

  3. oh, elizabeth – I LOVE YOUR NEW SITE! looks awesome!

  4. hey, thanks for playing along! didn’t know ur a chemist? that’s so cool 🙂

  5. For a second I thought you made the strawberry.

    This looks like a holiday must have, and thanks for the tag!

  6. Thanks for tagging me! I love being tagged..

    I actually already did this tag, so I won’t do it again, but it is a fun one!

    http://sherbetblossom.blogspot.com/2008/09/my-quirks.html

  7. oh…and your cooking skills are amazing! I am subscribing…

  8. These look fantastic! Your new blog makeover makes me happy 🙂

  9. Whoopie! Your blog design looks great!

  10. Hmm, whoopie pies, I suppose I’ll bite even if you didn’t do Renee’s thing.

  11. I love your new blog design! Very chic.

    OK, a meme, huh? I’ll have to think up some interesting facts. 🙂

  12. […] the whoopie pie- gotta love the whoopie pie. It’s like two brownies smushed with a marshmallow inside! (Not […]


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

