Smoked Salmon Frittata

February 1, 2009 at 2:47 pm | Posted in Brunch | 5 Comments

Like I didn’t get my fill of smoked salmon at Greg’s Bagels on Saturday, I found this recipe for an easy brunch addition to my Sunday feast and jumped at it! Julie and Meg ventured up from the city and landed in Towson! We had a lovely time and I am so happy I could have them over. 😀

Ina, amazing Ina always comes through! From now on, whenever I make brunch, this is showing up on the table! I also whipped up some buttermilk pancakes with fresh raspberries and we wet our whistle with some prosecco and orange and cranberry juices!

I halved this recipe,

Ingredients:

1 medium onion, diced
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
12 extra-large eggs
1 cup heavy cream
4 ounces fresh goat cheese, such as Montrachet, crumbled
1/2 pound smoked salmon, chopped
3 scallions, chopped, white and light green parts
3 tablespoons chopped fresh dill
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Saute the onion and butter in a 10-inch oven-proof omelet pan over medium-low heat until translucent, about 5 minutes.

In a large bowl, beat the eggs. Add the heavy cream, goat cheese, smoked salmon, scallions, dill, salt, and pepper and combine. Pour the mixture over the onions and place the omelet pan in the center of the oven. Bake the frittata for about 50 minutes, until it puffs and a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. Serve hot directly from the pan.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What is prosecco? And I didn’t have a champagne brunch this weekend- I drank it on Sat. nite! woohoo! (as a result, I didn’t take very good pics of the food I was eating out at the bar. whoops)

  2. I can attest to how delish it all was and well worth the venture waaaaaay uptown (but still inside the beltway, barely).

  3. i don’t even like seafood but that looks delicious i’d eat it anyway

  4. That was a seriously delicious frittata (I’m hungry just remembering it) and it was beautiful looking too. The pancakes were just as good. I hope you post the recipe for them next.

  5. hellz yeah i’ll be makin this! i love love love smoked salmon!


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

