A Finger Licking Chicken Dinner

February 23, 2009 at 11:09 am | Posted in Dinner | 7 Comments

So this meal was the one I originally intended for Feb 14, because I was given the option to either make roast chicken or scallops for the Birthday Boy and so I bought a nice free range organic chicken from Whole Foods… but then Mr.Neddy Noo Noo decided he would rather have scallops. No problem, I said! We can just do the chicken for our usual end to the weekend feast! So here it is and boy was it some delicious comfort food.

We made a brined whole chicken with some fresh thyme and sauteéd mushrooms (organic and local shittakes and porcinis, no less!) atop a bead of pureéd cauliflower! The cauliflower purée almost mimics the awesomeness of mashed potatoes, and its uber-healthy- so there we go!

So for the first part of this meal, I took to brining. I’ve been reading the salt book recently (thank you J Berlow!) and at some point I came along to the fact that a brine is truly a brine when an egg can float in it! So off I went with my salt can and an egg. So maybe I’m lazy, or maybe I’m cheap, but I put enough salt in the pot so that the egg would stand on its end… not a true brine, but a definite compromise… So the clucker sat in that for about 6 hours and then I took it out and dried it (thoroughly!) and thoroughly (again!) salted and peppered the bird. And then there was the trussing- another thing that confirms my inability to follow directions… I probably got half of them right, but all I know is that it’s important for those legs to come together, so that I did! Preheated the oven to 475 (woot hot oven!) and cooked it for about forty-five minutes.  Boy did my kitchen get smoky… (note to self: find some time to self clean that bitch…) Juicy and perfectly browned- God I love baked meats!

The rest of the meal was super easy too. Just sauteéing up the mushrooms with thyme, shallots and s&p. And cauliflower pureé could not be easier. I had some frozen florets from way back in November (?) from the farmer’s market. Inspirational Julie (especially when it comes to cauliflower!) motivated me to buy some, and after sitting in the fridge for 1 week I decided it was to the freezer it should go! And after I tasted Auntie Helen’s pureé a couple of weeks ago I decided how to use it up! Just boil it for around 5-10 minutes, until its fork tender, then take it to the blender, add a bit of the cooking liquid, a bit of cream and butter, then lottttts of salt and pepper and voilà- dinnertime! 😀

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yum yum tum! That looked great!!!

  2. that does look good (and now i’m hungry, thanks!). and i’ve always meant to read the salt book, you’ll have to let me know how you like it. i have a tiny chicken that was on sale- its only like 4 lbs. i wish i had some yummy mushies to cook up with it, like you!

    and you and ‘neddy noo noo’ make me want to barf. 🙂

  3. wow, that’s a great presentation. i’m sure it was great.

  4. What an interesting technique! And I like the idea of mashed cauliflower instead of mashed potatoes.

  5. that looks soooo good! i need to try free range chx…

  6. looks delicious!

  7. You and your salt, you are always light on salt 😉


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

