March Charm City Cookbooking

March 26, 2009 at 9:48 am | Posted in Cookbooks, Dessert, Dinner | 2 Comments

So boy was this awhile ago, but man it was a delicious and definitely enjoyable evening!  So life seems to be in a whirlwind right now, with moving and a previously insane work load, but now it seems that work is calming down so alas I have time to enjoy my passion! 😀

Joanne chose Elizabeth David’s a South Wind through the Kitchen. This lady is a no nonsense goddess who brought French and Italian cooking to the masses in England in the 1950’s and later.   Her recipes are so simple and magically they turn out very well.

I made the onion soup, with no beef broth! I know it was weird, but it ended up tasting just fine (maybe with the extra help from Joanne’s parmesan addition!) Check out the rest of our dishes below.

Here is Julie‘s masterpiece- definitely made with a lot of love and handwork! Baked mussels (previously steamed with a nice broth) with parsley and breadcrumbs, etc!

Joanne and Coralie two timed on our entree. Veal osso bucco and a nice and fresh lemon risotto. With the tomatoes and fresh herbs, this dish felt perfect for the change in weather that is coming about. Yay spring!

Now this osso bucco lead to my absolute favorite part of eating that night- MARROW!! With butter on freshly toasted bread! Heaven. Pure and simple.

Lastly, Renee made a nice fluffy hand kneaded cake with raisins and currants and other delicious things! It went great with the creme fraiche and coffee ice creams. Boy I love ice cream and I love it even more when there’s cake!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Every time I read your blog, I add more cookbooks to my “to buy” list 🙂 Yet again more beautiful food, dearie!

  2. Have still not tried marrow – will be on my to-do list!


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

