The original inspiration: Heaven from Helen

April 13, 2009 at 5:05 pm | Posted in Dessert | 4 Comments

You see this cake?? If it wasn’t for this cake- my whole hobby, my whole passion would have never come to fruition! A long long time ago, (okay 14 months!) I found myself on Tartelette. I was searching for an amazing dessert to make for a “Valentine’s Day is bunk” party for my ladies! I feasted my eyes upon this insanity: the Honey Panna Cotta Raspberry Terrine.

So I made the cake and I was hooked. Helen McSweeney is a baking goddess and I feel blessed to be able to be involved with her blog and be able to use her recipes! So I wanted to remake this cake for my blog anniversary but I’m a couple weeks late…

I don’t think my girlfriend’s minded that I made this cake for our latest girlie party- in fact it was a home run!

I replaced the raspberries with strawberries and sliced those up for the internal layers. The genoise cake recipe is pretty simple and this time I made it the same day we ate the cake and that improved the overall freshness of the dessert! The panna cotta is a very interesting filling- one I would never think to use, but it works very well- super light and tangy- its the perfect contrast to the spongy cake and sweet whipped cream. Last time I made the whipped cream, I dyed it pink with food coloring but this time I thought I would class it up and keep it simple!


So thank you Helen for this divine recipe and thank you my girlfriend’s for always coming to my girlie parties with a healthy appetite for sugar! πŸ˜†

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I need that…..

  2. OMG! That’s gorgeous!

  3. What a beautiful spring time dessert.

    Buon appetito,

    Carmela

  4. Looks gorgeous. Such a nice way to present it and using paper strips to get that effect on the frosting is so creative.


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

