April Daring Baker’s Challenge: Raspberry Chocolate Mini Cheesecakes

April 27, 2009 at 7:41 am | Posted in Daring Bakers, Dessert | 25 Comments

The April 2009 challenge is hosted by Jenny from Jenny Bakes. She has chosen Abbey’s Infamous Cheesecake as the challenge. These cheesecakes were OFF THE HOOK. Ned actually proclaimed that these might be the best dessert he has EVER HAD!! And when I told my sweet coworker Alice (who also had one!) that- she said “Now if he doesn’t marry you, he is out of his mind!” πŸ˜€ I love Alice, and I love Ned AND I love cheesecake!

Well I didn’t follow the recipe hardly at all- but being economical Elizabeth I used a bunch of ingredients that I already had in the fridge!

crust:
8 oz chocolate wafers
5 tbsp melted butter
2 tbsp sugar

cheesecake:
2 sticks of cream cheese, 8 oz each room temperature
1 cup marscarpone cheese
1/2 cup sugar
6 oz bittersweet chocolate
3 large eggs
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 tbsp. vanilla extract (or the innards of a vanilla bean)
1 tbsp raspberry liqueur

topping:
1/2 cup creme fraiche
1/2 cup sour cream
1/2 cup powdered sugar
raspberries

DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Begin to boil a large pot of water for the water bath.

2. Mix together the crust ingredients in a food processor and press into your preferred pan (cupcake pans!). You can press the crust just into the bottom, or up the sides of the pan too – baker’s choice. Set crust aside.

3. Combine cream cheese and marscarpone at high speed for 5 minutes until smooth and creamy. Beat in the melted chocolate and sugar until thoroughly blended. Beat in the liquer and continue beating until the mixture is very smooth, for about 4 minutes.

4. Set the mixer on low speed and add the eggs one at a time, beating until incorporated but taking care not to overbeat. Add the heavy cream just until incorporated, for about 30 seconds.

5. Pour batter into prepared crust and tap the pan on the counter a few times to bring all air bubbles to the surface. Place pan into a larger pan and pour boiling water into the larger pan until halfway up the side of the pan.

6. Bake 45 to 55 minutes, until it is almost done – this can be hard to judge, but you’re looking for the cake to hold together, but still have a lot of jiggle to it in the center. You don’t want it to be completely firm at this stage. Close the oven door, turn the heat off, and let rest in the cooling oven for one hour. This lets the cake finish cooking and cool down gently enough so that it won’t crack on the top. After one hour, remove cheesecake from oven and lift carefully out of water bath. Let it finish cooling on the counter, and then cover and put in the fridge to chill. Once fully chilled, it is ready to serve.

7. Mix topping ingredients together and place with raspberries atop chilled cheesecakes! ENJOY THE HELL OUT THEM!

25 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sounds great! Good Job! Cute!

  2. […] Strawberries in Paris-Raspberry Chocolate Mini Cheesecakes […]

  3. Oh, liz, they look darling and so delicious! Gorgeous work!

  4. those are so cute and your pics for this post are beautiful! nice composition, baby!

  5. Looks delicious…so cute! YUM. πŸ™‚

  6. Yummie!! This dessert sounds so lovely!! I adore them!!

  7. Adorable! fantastic job, I love any dessert miniaturized (you can eat more and pretend it isn’t as bad for you!)

  8. Love the raspberry chocolate combination. And anything mini is always so cute! πŸ™‚

  9. These look amazing! I was so surprised to see your comment on my blog! Honestly I can’t remember how I found your blog – I may have found it through a food blog search and was interested in it because my sister moved to Baltimore last summer. I’m passing on some of your restaurant recommendations to her! I love your ideas and your photography – thanks!

  10. Your cheesecakes look great!

  11. oooh, these look so cute! well done! :O)

  12. Those are so cute! I wish I’d made mini cheesecakes!

  13. Those are very elegant looking cheesecakes! They remind me of the black bottom cake muffins.

  14. I am speechless…and so sad all my cheesecake’s gone! Those look off the charts, bravo!

  15. One of the nicest pictures on the forum I really like the cut minis photo. Great effort on this challenge. Bravo from Audax in Australia

  16. Your cheesecakes look so good! Ugh, yuum! You take awesome photos too!

  17. ouh cuteness!

  18. They look delicious, and I’m all for using what you have on hand whenever possible. Thanks for being a part of this month’s challenge.

  19. Nice way to make mini cheesecakes. Love how you used creme fraiche in it.

  20. Those are absolutely beautiful and I love the topping! I wish I could grab one off my screen right now!

  21. Mmm, sounds and looks lovely. I really like the idea of pairing the rich chocolate cheesecake with the creme fraiche/sour cream.

  22. […] this semi-professionally! After making the cupcake sized cheesecakes for the Daring Baker’s challenge I felt inspired to go even more mini and somehow incorporate mint into the […]

  23. […] my mini dark chocolate raspberry cheesecakes. This is probably the fifth time I have made this recipe, second time doing it in miniature cupcake form! These babies are to die for. I really would like […]

  24. These look fantastic! My boyfriend and I are going to bake them for a friend’s birthday. Quick question – how did you get these to pop out of mufifn tins? Did you use the sort with removable bottoms? Or some sort of cupcake papers? Or do they come out looking nice like this? Thanks!

    • I froze the whole pan in the freezer and used a knife to pop them out of the cupcake well. It kinda scraped the pan (which leads to rust eventually…) but it worked for that time!


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

