Tomato Watermelon Gazpacho

July 9, 2009 at 9:16 am | Posted in Cookbooks, Dinner | 8 Comments

Laurita was a little skeptical when I started making this at 10:00 on Sunday night, but she went along with it and even helped destroy the watermelon! Thanks Laurita! But wow this turned out great and the fact that all it took was a little bit of chop work and use of a blender sold me for sure!

I don’t think I ever made something so delicious and elegant that required no cooking! The sweetness of the watermelon is offset by the tangy red onion and flavorful dill and all the flavors really sing with the tomato base! This recipe comes from Tyler Florence and I am so happy that I am peering into that cookbook more frequently every day. He does great seasonal dishes.

I doubled this recipe so that we could eat it all week long! And I even had enough for my impromptu dinner party on Wednesday!

Ingredients:
3 c. chopped tomatoes
3 c. cubed & seeded watermelon
1 serrano chile, seeded and coarsely chopped (I got a long green chile and I don’t think it was the same flavor profile, but c`est la vie!)
2 Tbsp. red wine vinegar
¼ c. flavorful extra-virgin olive oil
2 Tbsp minced red onion
1 cucumber, peeled, seeded and minced
2 tbsp dill
salt & pepper
¼ c. crumbled feta cheese

Directions:
In a blender, puree half of the tomatoes and half of watermelon, the serrano chile, the basil and the oregano. Add the remaining tomatoes and watermelon, the red wine vinegar and olive oil and pulse once or twice just to blend, making sure that the watermelon and tomato do not get pureed. Pour the contents of the blender into a serving bowl and fold in the onion and the cucumber . Season with salt & pepper, to taste. Serve lightly chilled or at room temperature, sprinkled with the feta and sprigs of dill.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. THAT’S FUNNY, I was thinking of making geeezzzpacho myself. I bought some tomato seconds from the market, they’re currently leaking all over my counter, yum. Did you see the Bitten Word post about gazpacho? Yum, yum, yum. The only thing is, it’s not really hot enough here to warrant it… hm… But the sun’s out and it’s 70- I’ll take it!!

  2. Oh, PS- I am kinda fundamentally opposed to watermelon in savory stuff, I don’t really like watermelon and I like it even less when it’s mixed with beets or some shit. But this is good?

    • OH It’s good!! No I have no time to read other blogs other than yours basically!! haha

  3. It was quite yummy!! Thanks again for dinner!

  4. This sounds delish!! Paired with a fresh salad and grilled fish…I’m adding it to my menu this week! Thanks for sharing!

  5. I underestimate his recipes. That looks great!

  6. Sounds refreshing… I’m pretty sure I’ve had something similar before and remembered liking it. Tyler Florence seems to have a good rep among bloggers. I have to admit I’m slightly surprised, but only because I’ve never tried any of his recipes.

  7. […] I had whipped up the night before. (soup always tastes better after sitting for a night   This post is from the first time I made this. 6 ingredients (+ olive oil, vinegar and s&p), 1 blender = […]


Leave me something sweet!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

