Blown Away at Monterrey Bay Fish Grotto

September 17, 2009 at 9:19 am | Posted in Dessert | 6 Comments

Exactly one night after gouging myself on booze and food at Woodberry, Ned and I treated ourselves to another fantastic meal! We randomly decided to visit Pittsburgh in order to see some baseball, sights and Falling Water and went searching for the best place to have a good meal. Somehow he stumbled upon this one and the combination of the fantastic view and having very fresh and beautifully prepared seafood helped us to decide instantly!

I was so happy to have a nice quiet spot in the corner in which to whip out the new camera! And we had quite a marvelous view of the city to boot!

So in order to get to this lovely vantage point we had to traverse up Mt.Washington in our cab and it was a fun approach up the steep and curvy roads!

Do you See?? Amazing.

So for our appetizer we order the ahi tuna sesame encrusted sashimi. I have never ever tasted such a delicate fish as this. It literally melted in my mouth and I was in love.

This is me trying out my macro lens, this is a 1:1 shot! So as close as you can zoom…and this requires you to bring the lens right up to the object.

This is my favorite shot of the night. Ned got the parrot fish from Hawaii and he loved it. It was served with a ‘Black Peppercorn and Green Onion Sauce – Coated with fresh cracked black pepper, chargrilled, topped with a green onion sauce.’ The black pepper… (take it away Neddy!)

I went Julie and Julia and ordered the sole meunière. I think I’m used to crispily cooked fish, but this butter sauce was just to die for. The fish was so flaky and light it was perfect.  They paired it with some coleslaw and that also made my mouth delighted. I am totally smitten with coleslaw and pairing it with fish, barbecue and big ol Italian sandwiches (next post!)- I should buy stock in coleslaw!

Next, we ordered creme brulee. I daresay that this is the best creme brulee I have ever tasted! It was a ‘Vanilla bean infused custard topped with caramelized sugar, toffee and fresh blueberries.’ I think the toffee combination was what did it for my palate!

Lastly, some espresso with my favorite simple treat in life: brown sugar cubes. And look at that lovely dish!

This restaurant was much more than we expected. When we do go back this place is on the list! Superb service and perfectly executed food to match. And the view? It doesn’t get better than that!

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto on Urbanspoon

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. WOW! I am blown away… everything looks do delish! Your photos are awesome!

  2. This makes me hungry for fish and creme brulee!

  3. Love the pictures!! Looks wonderful.

  4. Thanks guys for the photo props!! Definitely makes me happy being able to match the quality of the food with a quality picture!

  5. Mmmm, yeah, makes me want a new camera, beautiful photos!

  6. […] eating alot of raw fish that night and I am sooooo pleased that I finally took that plunge. (Our appetizer in Pittsburgh really turned me on to the sashimi […]


Leave me something sweet!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

