Happily satiated from Six Penn Kitchen

September 21, 2009 at 12:00 am | Posted in Brunch, Travels | 2 Comments

Ned and I were hunting around our hotel in Pittsburgh for a nice place to have breakfast on Saturday morning. The nice fellow at the desk suggested Six Penn Kitchen and so we headed down a couple of blocks and saw that it was closed! We decided to grab lunch at the Andy Warhol museum , and lemmejusttellyou- unspectacular food, but spectacular museum!!  I mean, a room full of helium inflated silver mylar balloons floating around?? And the whole point is to just walk through it and let them hit you.  What an amazing mind that Andy Warhol. So anyways, I digress… We decided to come back the next morning before we headed down to Falling Water, (which was also spectacular!). So this restaurant is quite a fine establishment and the portions are HUGE! But it does make sense though because it is Pittsburgh and from what I know these people like to eat!

Now that I’m writing this, I feel full just thinking about the meal! (maybe it was my lunch from today though…). We had a very nice server and the manager came around to check on us and they didn’t even say anything about my extensive photo shoot going on. 😀  Check out the eats below!

Here are the sharp looking menus…. and I loved the dark hardwood table and dark hardwood all around the place. I think I’ve been watching too much Flipping out and coming to like his sleek style!

Here is Ned’s bloody mary that he ordered extra smoky with a shot of beer. Boy was it smoky! I could smell it from like 12 inches away! I don’t think he would order the smoky version again but it was a nice change from usual bloody marys.

Here is my peach bellini, and if you look real close you can see the bubbles! I love my new macro lens!

Here was our “bread” brought to the table, a perfect moist little buttermilk buscuit and the best part about this was the butter. Passion fruit flavored! Passion fruit seriously?  Seriously. Once I finished the buscuit I started eating it right off the knife… can’t go wrong with butter. EVER.

This was our appetizer for the meal, and you might ask why is bacon an appetizer?  Even though it was bacon, just like any other side dish you would order at brunch, this was no simple bacon! It was actually extreme…

Tempura fried bacon.  To this chef, bacon in itself is not just amazing enough, in order to make it good you have to dip it in batter and fry the darn thing! Ned and I agreed that the tempura actually overwhelmed the flavor of the bacon and we didn’t get that nice crispy bacon texture that I so long for….  Next time I see this on the menu, I will decline! But still, it was flavorful and fatty, other attributes that bacon certainly has.

Here is Ned’s ‘Smoked ham & gruyere croque-madame, fried egg, frites; Mornay sauce.’ He tore that thing right up! The sandwich alone was enough for one meal, no need for frites, but then again I was there to help, so those frites disappeared pretty darn quickly. The reason I say this is because I ordered the french toast (I know! Quite the surprise :-P) and it wasn’t really to my liking, probably only ate one third, so I finished my meal with potatoes. 😀

So this was the ‘Cheesecake stuffed brioche French toast with seasonal accompaniments.’ Well the seasonal accompaniments were cherries and I can honestly say that cherries just don’t do it for me. And the fact that this bread was stuffed made the whole thing really soggy inside and I am coming to learn that crispy french toast is where its at for my mouth. The plate turned into one big ol chocolate berry mess and I pushed it to the side for more frites! The crazy thing was that the waitress recommended this dish as dessert, like most of their restaurant goers do! We were flabbergasted by that statement. How could two people actually split this sweet monster after eating a whole sandwich with frites?!?!

So all in all, this restaurant is very good. They certainly know how to do a great brunch, but just stay away from the french toast, unless its aforementioned attributes sound good to you!

Six Penn Kitchen on Urbanspoon

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yeah, that toast sounds like it has too much goin’ on! Your trip to the burgh sounds great, I’ve heard it’s a beautiful city, now I can see for myself (from your pics). Too bad they love them Steelers though! How nice that you guys got to go on a little trip.

  2. You had me at bacon. 🙂


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

