Ina G Pizza, Tyler F Salad, & Tom K Gazpacho!

September 27, 2009 at 12:00 am | Posted in Cookbooks, Dinner | 16 Comments

This was our Sunday night dinner from two weeks ago. It was comprised of my favorite quick pizza dough recipe from Ina Garten, a new delicious arugula salad from Tyler Florence and below you can see some gazpacho from Thomas Keller! All from cookbooks on our shelf and alllll very delicious!

I went astray from the pizza recipe and just put a TON of monterrey jack cheese (in the fridge) on the pizza dough, but I did include the garlic oil and that component is cruc! Delciously cruc. The ingredients for the salad are so interesting and I am completely addicted to it now. I have made it like 5 times since that night! Simple tasty ingredients combined together always make amazing dishes. And that statement leads us to the gazpacho… Gazpacho is summer health food for the soul. My friend Alice went to Spain in the spring and her amigos there swear by gazpacho as a weight loss solve! I can’t get enough of that stuff either, although the longer it sits in the fridge, the stronger the onion flavor becomes, so watch out!

Salad Ingredients:

1 shallot, finely minced
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
2 teaspoons red wine vinegar
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon honey
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
6 cups arugula
1/3 cup pistachios, shelled (I used the salted ones)
1/3 cup coarsely chopped dill
1/2 cup green grapes, sliced in half

Directions:

1) Combine the shallot, mustard, vinegar, oil, sugar, honey and salt and pepper in a jar and shake to emulsify. (This dressing was wowed about multiple times when I made it for the bachelorette beach trip last week! I promised Kelly and Bethany I would send them the recipe!)

2) Toss arugula with vinaigrette, to taste. Toss in dill, pistachios and grapes!

Soup Ingredients:

1 cup chopped red onions
1 cup chopped green bell pepper
1 cup chopped English cucumber
1 cup chopped and peeled tomatoes
1 1/2 teaspoons chopped garlic
1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
1/4 cup tomato paste
1 tablespoon white wine vinegar
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
3 cups tomato juice
Sprig of thyme

Soup Directions:

1) Mix all the ingredients except the balsamic glaze together in a bowl or other container, cover, and let sit in the refrigerator overnight.

2) The next day, remove the thyme and blend all the ingredients in a blender until the gazpacho is smooth. You will have about 2 quarts. For a smoother texture, strain the soup to yield about 1 quart. Refrigerate the gazpacho until ready to serve.

To complete: Ladle the cold soup into bowls and squeeze dots of balsamic vinegar over the top.

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I heart pizza. Makes me want to whip up a batch of dough right now. I think I’ll try Ina’s…

    • Yeah it is a pretty good pizza recipe. I’m going to make it again tomorrow to get rid of some cheese I have in the fridge. I tried to post a comment on your strawberries post Tracy and my grandpas computer (which I’m currently on) is doing something weird with blogger. so here it is!
      Hope you got to take a nap and then slowly wake up and enjoy that wonderful combination of flavors! Not my personal favorite way of enjoying strawberries, but it is certainly creative. I met Adam Roberts last year the festival with Julie, which reminds me that I should pull out his book and make something soon from it!

      • Yep, I saw the duplicate comment and fixed it. Blogger does misbehave at times. I opted to throw together a batch of foccacia instead of pizza dough since we’re running low on bread. Bread Bible. Very good source, although I had to adjust the recipe because Baltimore is so darn humid. Her ratio of water to flour just doesn’t work around these parts.

  2. hi elizabeth!! I found your blog when I was searching “Miss Shirley’s” (I went there today for breakfast ;)) and i absolutely love it!! the layout, the materal, everything! you have some taste in good eats, that is for sure! And I see that you were a biochem major? I am a junior at loyola college- well university now- and I am a biology major! looking forward to reading more!
    -Christina
    P.S. what are some of your favorite spots for breakfast/lunch/dinner in/around baltimore?

    • Hi Christina! You are so cute! I like your blog too! Loyola is a good school and a friend of mine graduated from there in 2002 with a biology degree! I am actually a chemist, but I did love biochemistry in college. Oh my favorite spots? Go check out my urbanspoon restaurant reviewed list. But my favorites are andy nelsons, brewers art, annabel lee tavern, and salt! For brunch I really do like gregs bagels and cafe golden west. Keep up the good work in science! Hey if you have time, vote for me on the baltimoresun website tomorrow for the mobbies award! I’ll put something up about it tomorrow. 😀

      • Aw thank you! for some reason when I read “environmental chemist” I read “bio chemist” in place of environmental haha. do not ask me why. anyway- thank you for the list of places! I am always looking for cool places to go to! have you ever been to one world cafe? i really like it there. and this friday my friends and I are going to Red star in fells point. so hopefully that is good….the menu seems like they have a lot of different/good options. going out to eat is just so much fun haha i think i like food way too much! but thanks for the suggestions- its hard to find the “hidden gems” when you are not actually from baltimore! there is so much to do around here its just a matter of finding it! anyway- how do i get to the site for your urbanspoon reviews? and ill keep a look out for your post about the baltimore sub voting thing tomorrow because im not sure how to do that either! but i absolutely vote for you 😉

      • You are so welcome! And yes I have been to one world mannnnny many times, since I used to live in the Broadview for 3 years! I love the tuna melt there and the happy hour prices are pretty good. I have heard very good things about redstar actually, and going out to eat is the best! But then also being able to cook awesome things all by yourself is extremely rewarding to me. So for my urbanspoon go here: http://www.urbanspoon.com/br/31/330/Baltimore/Strawberries-in-Paris.html and browse through all of the restaurants I have gone to in the last two years! Hope you have a great day Christina!

      • oh and one more thing…i am taking my two friends who go to the naval academy out for lunch on sunday in annapolis- any suggestions there? there was mention of The boatyard- know anything about it??

      • ohhhh actually, I have never really ever hung out in annapolis 😦 crazy, right? Look on urbanspoon I would suggest!

      • after you told me to go on urban spoon- i must have spent over an hour on it- i made an account and im lovingggg itttt!!

  3. Hey girl, nice cookin’. It’s making me hungry for pizza! We’re moving tonight to a smaller apartment (ugh), so we’re gonna get some pizza, yum! xoxo

    • MOVING??? oh no! cheaper?? but how is the kitchen KT?? you going to get some awesome light at least for swell photography opportunities??

      well have fun getting pizza! I hope its deeeelicious. And send me the address for your new place!

  4. Biss, The camera and your new lens are working great! love the pictures. Aunti Martha

    • Thanks Auntie! Love you!

  5. I’ve never made an Ina Garten recipe I didn’t like. She’s amazing.

  6. […] first batch was great, second batch terrible and the third batch pretty good! I have been tweaking this recipe and this one and I think I have gotten to a good place where I can remember it from scratch! […]


Leave me something sweet!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

