Blueberry BIG Crumb Cake for the Beach!

September 30, 2009 at 12:00 am | Posted in Brunch | 18 Comments

This crumb cake recipe will now become my standard for the rest of my life!!! Deb, newly momma Deb, can make a mean coffee cake! I found this recipe because I wanted to bring a nice breakfast treat for Kelly, Bethany and I for our Ocean City beach trip. We got to eat it on the balcony with some mimosas and a beautiful view of the ocean! Perfect bachelorette weekend bliss.

The crumbs for this concoction were incredible. Twice the size of the cake layer for this cake! Deb made it with rhubarb but I went with blueberries and they worked great!


For the crumbs:
1/3 cup dark brown sugar
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick or 4 ounces) butter, melted
1 3/4 cups cake flour (I was out and used all-purpose and it worked great)

For the cake:
1/3 cup sour cream
1 large egg
1 large egg yolk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup cake flour
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons softened butter, cut into 8 pieces.

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease an 8-inch-square baking pan. For filling, slice rhubarb 1/2 inch thick and toss with sugar, cornstarch and ginger. Set aside.

2. To make crumbs [this step now updated, see comment #150] in a large bowl, whisk sugars, spices and salt into melted butter until smooth. Then, add flour with a spatula or wooden spoon. It will look and feel like a solid dough. Leave it pressed together in the bottom of the bowl and set aside.

3. To prepare cake, in a small bowl, stir together the sour cream, egg, egg yolk and vanilla. Using a mixer fitted with paddle attachment, mix together flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Add butter and a spoonful of sour cream mixture and mix on medium speed until flour is moistened. Increase speed and beat for 30 seconds. Add remaining sour cream mixture in two batches, beating for 20 seconds after each addition, and scraping down the sides of bowl with a spatula. Scoop out about 1/2 cup batter and set aside.

4. Scrape remaining batter into prepared pan. Spoon rhubarb over batter. Dollop set-aside batter over rhubarb; it does not have to be even.

5. Using your fingers, break topping mixture into big crumbs, about 1/2 inch to 3/4 inch in size. They do not have to be uniform, but make sure most are around that size. Sprinkle over cake. Bake cake until a toothpick inserted into center comes out clean of batter (it might be moist from rhubarb), 45 to 55 minutes. Cool completely before serving.

Yield: 6 to 8 servings.

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. yes!!!! I love getting new blueberry dessert recipes!!!! You are right about that crumb – that looks amazinggggg

    • Thanks Nakiya! Missed you at Scotty’s party!

      • I know 😦 I think I was away that weekend. Are you going to the Mobbie (hahaha I love that name) ceremony on Wednesday? We can finally meet! Yay!

  2. I love this recipe. I think it made half of my office love rhubarb. Good to know it works with other fruit too, since rhubarb is a fleeting fruit and this deserves to be made more regularly! Thanks for sharing!

  3. This looks scrumptious! I hold blueberries in high esteem.

  4. Looks like a great crumb cake…very moist.

  5. aw looks so much fun and the crumb cake- ahhh looks so good!!! did i ask you if you have been to Red star bar and grill yet?? i am going on friday for lunch with friends… thoughts?

    • Hey Christina, thanks! See my friend KT’s comments about red star below since I have never been there!

  6. Wow! that sounds amazing! πŸ™‚

  7. I can attest to the scrumptiousness of this cake πŸ™‚ And it’s really delicious with ice cream too! Thank you so much for making it for us. Elizabeth, your new camera is doing an amazing job!

  8. That cake looks delicious and easy to make, I’ll have to try it! I need a trip to the beach with my girlfriends… and tell your friend Christina that I love Red Star! They have a great dish at brunch- sweet and regular potato has with crab meat and corn, yummmmm. And $5 unlimited mimosas and bloodies (although they might have done away with that, since it was creating some very drunk people!).

  9. Oh, that word is hash, not has.

  10. I cna’t believe i just now found your blog and i’m absolutely in love! i live in federal hill and love being able to see all the restaurants you’ve visited and all the amazing food you cook up! πŸ™‚

    • Hey thanks! Yours is so cute too! I love eric hutchinson!!

  11. Yum Yum Yum- now if I could just get you to make it for me πŸ™‚

  12. I could use a little beach time!

  13. […] got to go on a cruise and became engaged on that trip! To send her off I made the smitten kitchen blueberry crumb cake. As I was making this crumb cake I realized that I was going to be seeing my sister for high tea on […]


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

