Angel Food Cake from the Dessert Fairy!

November 23, 2009 at 12:37 am | Posted in Cookbooks, Dessert | 7 Comments

Ah- ha! DESSERT!! It has been so long since I made you….and since I brought you into work so I could be the dessert fairy! Well I was in the kitchen the night before cookbook club making a very tasty ice cream recipe that required 10 egg yolks (yowsa…) and as I split them up I realized I should dump the whites into a bowl instead of the drain… and so the ten egg whites sat and so I started thinking… 10 egg whites… what to make that could be enjoyed easily at work? Meringues? too bland…Macarons? too hard to start at this late hour… Angel Food Cake! yes….

DSC_0059

So off I went to crack Barefoot at Home and opened up to my trusty angel food cake recipe. I had made this cake two years ago for a New Year’s celebration! Not as good as this New Year’s celebration though! And so this recipe worked pretty well and the addition of chocolate bits to the cake batter is always a good idea! I didn’t do her chocolate glaze as my kitchen was already a big ol mess and I was done with making any more messes!

DSC_0051

Look at those gorgeous egg whites with gorgeous Petunia in the background. Gosh I love you Petunia, I’m sorry I have neglected you so. I promise I will be seeing you more often now that Christmas cookie season is almost upon us!

Ingredients:
2 cups sifted superfine sugar (about 1 pound) (I took 2 cups of regular sugar and put them in the food processor for 30 seconds to make it superfine!)
1 1/3 cups sifted cake flour (not self-rising) (well I used regular flour..probably should have used a little less flour to make it lighter...)
1 1/2 cups egg whites at room temperature (10 to 12 eggs)
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 1/2 teaspoons cream of tartar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup coarsely grated semisweet chocolate

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Combine 1/2 cup of the sugar with the flour and sift them together 4 times. Set aside.

Place the egg whites, salt, and cream of tartar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment and beat on high speed until the eggs form medium-firm peaks, about 1 minute. With the mixer on medium speed, add the remaining 1 1/2 cups of sugar by sprinkling it over the beaten egg whites. Beat on high speed for a few minutes until thick and shiny. Add the vanilla and continue to whisk until very thick, about 1 more minute. Scrape the beaten egg whites into a large bowl. Sift 1/4 of the flour mixture over the egg whites and fold it very carefully into the batter with a rubber spatula. Continue adding the flour in 3 equal additions, sifting and folding until it’s all incorporated. Fold in the grated chocolate.

Pour the batter into an ungreased 10-inch tube pan, smooth the top, and bake it for 35 to 45 minutes, until it springs back to the touch. Remove the cake from the oven and invert the pan on a cooling rack. When cool, run a thin, flexible knife around the cake to remove it from the pan.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Petunia 🙂 You’re adorable

  2. Aww Petunia 🙂 She did such a good job with those egg whites!

  3. Pretty in pink!

  4. Helloooooo nurse, that cake looks good. One of my favorite kinds of cake! I wish I worked with you so you could bring me desserts. Hey, I tried to submit my blog to ‘food blog search,’ and they said I needed a more specific ‘about’ page on my blog. I was like, NO, that’s the way I like it beeotch. I like to protect my privacy, so go suck an egg food blog search. 🙂

  5. Hey, you got strawberriesinparis.com! You go girl!

  6. Elizabeth, I just nominated you for one of Wendi’s It’s a Major Awards!

    Wendi at Bon Appetit, Hon, started a little blog award wave of blogs she likes and the wave eventually reached me. The idea is that if you are nominated, and accept, you note a few blogs that you like. Wendi has a graphic for the award, too – it’s the leg lamp from A Christmas Story. The idea is just to point out a few blogs that you really like and to say why.

    Here’s Wendi’s post – she explains the “rules”:

    http://bonappetithon.com/2009/10/29/and-the-award-goes-to/

    And here’s mine:

    http://baltimoresnacker.blogspot.com/2009/11/fraa-jee-lay-it-must-be-italian.html

    Congrats!

    • Thanks John! It might be a couple of days til I pay mine forward!


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

