Griswald Christmas Party

December 21, 2009 at 5:40 pm | Posted in Appetizer, Dessert, Entertainment | 6 Comments

Our friends Ryan and Lea host a Griswald Family Christmas party ever year and the only requirement is that you wear an ugly Christmas sweater!!! I wanted to bring some funny appetizers, so I searched white trash party and the two creations below were included in that search! A circle pretzel was topped with a rolo, melted, and then a stick pretzel was inserted to make it easy to pop in your mouth!

DSC_0428

The second thing I made was fluffernutter sandwiches! See them and our blurry camera phone picture below!

Fluffernutter, for those of you not familiar, is a combination of peanut butter and marshmallow fluff on good ol white bread! And to make them even more festive I used a bell shaped cookie cutter. I toasted the bread so I think that made them seem stale- but maybe that made it more trashy!!?? Next time I make these (yeah right) I’m going to leave the bread the way it comes!

DSC_0420

And here are us in our ridiculous outfits- my auntie Martha lent me the holly turtleneck and ornament sweater, both from Talbots I’ll have you know. Ned got a dickie (adorned with snowman) and a beautiful holiday vest with skating bears, and was wearing some holiday pajama pants and elf shoes! We had so much fun and I really enjoy getting dressed up in crazy stuff!!

We are ready for some holiday partying to begin! Tonight is our 1st annual cousins + SO dinner at Bob’s house! Can’t wait!!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Whaddya mean ‘yeah right,’ fluffernutters are a necessary part of everyone’s summer! And I love that Aunt Martha owns that sweater/turtleneck in a serious way, when you are borrowing it to wear to an ugly sweater party. Ha!

  2. Is it bad that I think rolos and pretzels would taste awesome?! I love rolos!

    My mom is the queen of holiday sweaters–I think she own at least a dozen turtleneck and sweater combos. She’s wear them with pride from Thanksgiving to New Years every year.

  3. Randy Quaid. That’s all I’m saying.

  4. Griswald Christmas Party? Genius. I love the idea of pretzels and rollo’s. Guess my white trash roots are showing ; )

    Happy holidays to you and Ned. But please, burn those sweaters.

  5. Are you calling my Christmas sweater ugly? πŸ™‚

    • oh no auntie! You read my blog??? hehehe

      I actually think your sweater was the most tasteful of ALL the sweaters at the party!


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

