Elizabeth’s Cookie Christmas 2009

December 25, 2009 at 12:00 am | Posted in Dessert, Entertainment | 5 Comments

This year I wanted to make christmas cookies like I always do, but I wanted to kick it up a notch! And so I decided to get some awesome packaging (hell yeah paper mart) with very glittery ribbon, which decided to fall off when I was tying it and while everyone was handling their packages! I love seeing glitter ALLLLL over my friends and coworkers! πŸ˜€

DSC_0161

So I hope your Christmas day is full of fun presents, funny conversations and lots of cookies!!!

Merry Christmas to you and yours!

The first one is one of the best I made last year so I jumped on it again- a hazelnut rosemary thumbprint jam cookie! I think I might have baked them too long (stupid silpat, not allowing them to brown!) and that dried them out. But the rosemary and hazelnut is so cool with the jam. Love that I can use fresh rosemary in a cookie recipe!DSC_0164

Also (not clearly pictured) I made peanut butter and m&m oatmeal cookies! Those are really simple and festive b/c of the red and green m&ms.

Here is a new addition to my repertoire! A lemon-glazed candied ginger sugar cookie made by Martha. I have tons of leftover candied ginger from my fall feast so I wanted a way to incorporate that ingredient and that paired with the lemon glaze is just so great! I think next time I will double the ginger amount and make sure to not let them bake as long!

DSC_0163

And the whoopie pie– gotta love the whoopie pie. It’s like two brownies smushed with a marshmallow inside! (Not an authentic version from the Amish area, but still good.)

DSC_0165

This little swirly guy right below is a brown sugar meringue cookie. I got this recipe many years ago from Hungry Girl (who is awesome and hilarious in her newsletters) and because I have so many egg whites from making ice cream and etc over the past month, I thought I would bring it out. I love the flavor that the brown sugar brings to the recipe.

DSC_0166

The last one I made, also not clearly pictured, was proclaimed by Julie to be “Org**mic!” A white chocolate macadamia nut salted cookie! I used the jacques torres recipe to make the dough and then just substituted for the chocolate chips. Oh and I used some nice pink sea salt on top! I think that’s what brought it to a whole new level!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I am not usually a fan of white chocolate but those cookies were fantastic. The salt was an excellent touch and the cookie dough you used has a great flavor. Actually, all those cookies were delicious. πŸ™‚ What a wonderful gift! Thanks, Elizabeth!!

  2. Elizabeth, I love the fancy containers. What a splendid idea. Hope you had a very Merry Christmas.

  3. I adore the pretty packaging. It’s very festive. I hope you had a great Christmas! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Jen! You are sweet! My christmas was wonderful. Hope yours was too!!

  4. I’m not proud – I just made a big batch of cookies with different types of chips in them, and threw them all in a big food carrier to take home to the family. They liked them. I wanted to use festive plastic Chinese take out containers with winter decorations, but I never got around to it.


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

