Cut the cake… And have a muffin??

January 4, 2010 at 10:00 pm | Posted in Dinner | 7 Comments

So around Christmastime, our whole family was sitting around talking about Bob and Jen’s wedding and how much fun it’s going to be! But the one thing that will not be fun (watch out here comes vanity) is if we are all heffers in the wedding photos! Since my surgery, I’ve gained weight and about half of our family is not so skinny either, so we decided we need to gang up together and get this done in the next 5 months for our health and for our vanity. πŸ˜› So the weight loss ideas started flying and what resulted is pure genius! We started a google spreadsheet to document everyone’s weightloss (hell of a way to keep myself honest!) and we started a blog named Cut the Cake. Wedding appropriate and funny, right?? So the blog has been around since the day after Christmas and I really think its succeeding in its purpose! Everyone is posting their healthy food choices, exercise accomplishments, setbacks and random funny things (heres looking at you Auntie!). I really look forward to keeping up with it over these next five months.

DSC_0241

So anyways, I had to incorporate some sort of food thing into this Cut the Cake post, so here is my latest baked good and hopefully will be the last for awhile! Bobby hosted an awesome New Year’s Eve party and I wanted to bring something delicious and so I decided on breakfast. I went straight to my new happy reading addiction- Baked and found this recipe. It’s pretty healthy I think- and since when I ate one on New Years Day and a couple of mornings since then, I have wished that there was more sugar in it- so it must be lacking those evil calories! (sugar is not evil actually. I really wish I could stray away from that kind of speak like ‘I was so “good” today because I didn’t have sweets…’ Rather I would like to think -‘I was so healthy today and made healthy food choices.’) The muffin crumb on these babies was perfect and the texture contrast between the mushy bluberries and crunchy sliced almonds was nice. I don’t really think I could taste any overwhelming orange flavor though. Wonder if doubling the orange zest would help with that. And I wish there was some fun buttery sugar crumbs on top…..(3rd person now) but seriously healthy minded Elizabeth- you know its not necessary!!! Check out the recipe below!

Ingredients:
Grated zest of 1 orange
1/2 cup fresh orange juice
1/2 cup whole milk
2 large egg whites
4 tbsp unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1/4 cup sliced, blanched almonds, finely ground
2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup sliced almonds, toasted
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup blueberries
Handful of sliced almonds for decoration

DSC_0242

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees C. Spray a 12 cup muffin pan with nonstick cooking spray.
2. In a medium bowl, combine the orange zest, orange juice, milk, egg whites, and butter. Whisk until combined.
3. In another medium bowl, combine the ground almonds, flour, sugar, toasted sliced almonds, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients. Pour the wet ingredients into the well, and stir until just combined. Fold in the blueberries.
4. Fill each muffin cup about 3/4 full and arrange 3 or 4 sliced almonds on top of the batter in a floral decoration. Bake in the center of the oven for 15 minutes, or until the edges are brown and a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean. Move the muffin pan to a wire rack and let cool for 15 minutes. After 15 minutes, removed the muffins from the pan and let them finish cooling on the rack.
5. The muffins can be stored in an airtight container for up to 2 days.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think a group weight loss blog is a really great idea. Most dieticians say a food journal is the best way to keep yourself honest, and a collaborative project can help to keep you all motivated. So go Elizabeth, and good luck!

    As for the pictures (and this is my vanity speaking) I hate about 98 percent of all pictures taken of me. I think I’m just too short to photograph well. But you are very tall, so I’m sure you always look fantastic in pictures (I’ve seen proof on FB!)

  2. I too like the idea of your weightloss blog! You guys should post your name with the entries though, so I know who is talking (I can tell when it’s you from all the exclamation points!!!). πŸ™‚ Good luck! xoxo

    • haha, if you look real closely in the grey- there is the username posted!! How was your trip friend??

  3. The group blog thing is a great idea — nice to have the group encouraging and supporting everyone’s efforts. You should check out http://kalynskitchen.blogspot.com/ — all her recipes are SB friendly and they usually look delicious.

    • Julie! Awesome idea! I will forward this on to my family members who are sticking religiously for the first two weeks of our challenge!

      • I have been visiting that site for years..It is great. South Beach or not.

  4. […] you recall back to the first posts in the new year I had written in 2010 and 2011, they were all talking about health! Well I am still getting back on that health train! […]


Leave me something sweet!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

