My new lunch and appetizer go to: Hummus!

January 10, 2010 at 6:30 pm | Posted in Appetizer, Dinner | 6 Comments

At the snowpocalypse party 2009 one of Ned’s labmates brought a nice tray of cucumbers, carrots, snowpeas and broccoli and paired it with her homemade hummus! I tried this hummus and was so wowed! Typically, I love buying the sabra pine nut hummus, but for five bucks for a nice sized tub, I realized there had to be a cheaper way! And a way to exercise my culinary creativity!

DSC_0123

I went searching in Elise’s site and found her basic recipe. She uses alot of tahini (which I reasoned to be pretty high in calories for my purposes…) so I halved it and replaced that with water!

I have been eating this with snap peas, cucumbers and carrots every day for lunch in addition to a big salad of spinach with sesame seeds and simple french vinaigrette. Very healthy and although a bit light for a lunch, it has been helping me achieve my Cut the cake challenge goals!

One 25 oz can chickpeas
1/3 cup olive oil
1/3 cup tahini ( find in Greek section of market)
2 tbsp lemon juice
1 tsp garlic powder or 2 cloves fresh garlic cut up really well and small
1 tsp salt ( taste it and see if you need more for your liking)
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
* My buddy Megan’s suggestion is to add cumin. I’m going to try that next week when its time to refill my supply!

Rinse chickpeas and drain really well. Put all ingredients in food processor or blender. Pulse that thing for awhile! Add water by the tbsp to thin the consistency out a bit to your liking!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This is one of my kids favs for lunch box treats! I have to admit, I cheat and buy the pre done, individual serving sized numbers from Costco. Maybe, homemade hummus will be added to my still growing New Years Resolution list!

  2. I just made my first hummus last week. I’m so glad to have another recipe to try. Thanks.

  3. I never would have thought to cut the tahini, which is frankly sometimes too much for me in homemade hummus. Thanks for the idea!

  4. Hummus…that’s the business! I love hummus. Good luck with your goals, Elizabeth!

  5. I love, love hummus! So easy to make and so delicious.

    I love your version 🙂

  6. thanks for posting this sweet bissy i’ve wanted to make hummus for a while so this is inspiring! i wonder if we could cut the olive oil too or if there is a substitution…hmmmmm


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

