Snacking on Apple Chips

January 22, 2010 at 9:00 am | Posted in Dessert | 10 Comments

Apple chips. YUMMM. I have loved apple chips for as long as I can remember! You know- these kind. I distinctly remember asking for those right after I got my braces off when I was 14 or so. They are just so sweet and crunchy and so satisfying. So now on to my cooking attempts to make those babies… You might have read that I am currently on a drastic healthy lifestyle change. I am trying to work out for at least an hour every day and trying to incorporate as many fruits and vegetables into my diet as possible. Trying to stay away from carbs for the most part and definitely trying to stop snacking after I eat dinner. This motivation has come from the fact that I am in my cousin’s wedding in June and am sick of not fitting into half of my pairs of pants! And I would really like to get back to running, and to do that I need to improve the strength of my post ACL surgery quadricep muscle. I can’t wait until I get to my goal weight ( watch out! my pre college weight!) because then I can go anywhere and get whatever I feel like and it won’t pack on the pounds because I am going to keep up this exercise (and maybe then I’ll be ready to be a buff bride myself! (no pressure Neddy, no pressure at all :-P)!

DSC_0043

In an attempt to make treats for myself I went thinking about different fruits and how to make them into an interesting dessert. Because I have this awesome mandoline (thank you Ned!) that I received for my birthday last year, it is incredibly easier to accomplish these apple chips! They turned out very crispy and pretty flavorful due to the spices I laid up on them. They aren’t as sweet as the Seneca version, but that’s okay. Here’s to being 20% of the way there and to having delicious low calorie things to snack on! Go check out the recipe below…

DSC_0036

Ingredients:

1 braeburn apple (or granny smith, gala took an extra hour longer!)
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
pinch of nutmeg and ginger

DSC_0038

Directions:
1) Mandoline the apple to as thin as possible.
2) Preheat the oven to 200 degrees and place silpats on baking sheets.
3) Mix the spices together and distribute half of it evenly on both of the silpats.
4) Organize the apples on the sheets pretty close to each other and then sprinkle the rest of the spices atop!
5) Cook for 2 hours!
6) Enjoy! (but try not to eat the whole lot in 5 minutes like I do right after they come out!)

DSC_0041

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good for you! I know you’ll reach your goal(s), Elizabeth!

    • Thank you Tracy! I appreciate your support!!

  2. It sounds like you’re making great progress so far! I know weight loss is hard (I did it in college–all that cafeteria food did not go so well with me quitting sports!) but you have the right attitude to make it work! Get Ned involved too–did you see that study a few weeks ago about how women with partners gain more weight?

    • Glad to see you made it through your weight loss challenge too! Actually two years ago I was like 5 lbs from my goal weight, but then I started dating and got back with Ned and had the knee crap and it all came back! :-/ oh well. at least I know I ate realllly well to get where I was on January 1st! And Ned? He is as trim as a tree! But he is making sure we are eating super vegetable full dinners during the week. πŸ™‚

  3. This is just WOW. You made apple chips…you can do anything.

    • I can do anything?? You are so funny wendi!! Thanks friend. πŸ™‚

  4. You MADE those????? I am IMPRESSED

  5. Perfect with a pot of caramel!!

  6. Hiiiiii. I am proud of you for drying your own food- go food preservation! I have access to a dehydrator here, I should take it home and whip out some dried fruits and fruit leather. So nice to control your own sugars/additives for a healthy snack. Power to your weigh loss, girl! πŸ™‚

  7. You go girl!! I so wish I had time in my world to make healthy treats like this for my kids! I’m lucky if I have time to scoop up a bag at the store!


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

