February Charm City Cookbooking: Diana Kennedy

February 25, 2010 at 10:40 pm | Posted in Cookbooks, Dinner | 7 Comments

So I hosted this month, and surprise surprise- I chose Mexican again!!! I really wanted a reason to make tamales from scratch and so I found this book of Diana’s that had a bunch of tamale recipes and a lot of good solid Mexican cooking knowledge! I put some of her tamale expertise to use, but really I took the recipe from abuelita. πŸ˜€ She bought me a bunch of things I would need at the Mexican market and then I put them to use on Saturday night and what resulted?? Only the best tamales abuelita has had in a long time!!! Go me!!!

DSC_0137

Here is a shot of some of my tamales, they were awesome (and I don’t care one bit how much I am bragging about it!) They took about 3 hours to make from start to finish and I can’t wait until I have another big get together so I can make them for the rest of my friends!! Now go over to our CBC blogsite and see the rest of our great Mexican fare.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Elizabeth, looks like y’all had quite the feast. Homemade tamales? You rock.

    • Thank you Wendi!!!

  2. I love…love…homemade tamales! I’m thinking the next blogger get together, you should definitely make these bad boys!!

    • That might be possible!!!

  3. Go right ahead and brag, your tamales were excellent! And I think having a food blogger tamalada is a great idea.

  4. Liz – those look amazing!!!

  5. Those look great! I actually just came home from the market with masa in hand intent on making tamales. Now I just have to decide which flavor!


Leave me something sweet!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

