A Market Meal

May 10, 2010 at 9:07 pm | Posted in Dinner | 4 Comments

Early Sunday morning on May 2nd Ned and I wandered downtown (well drove…) and quenched our thirst for the first real fresh food of the season! Got some strawberries, asparagus, pickles, flowers for R&R and sausage. The sausage was the best part. We’ve always looked longingly at the meat selection at the Truck Patch stand, so we went bold and actually opened the coolers and perused thoroughly! There were many kinds of sausage and a instant tasty meal came to mind. “What do you think about peppers and onions with sausage Ned??” “YES, wonderful idea…”

DSC_0043

This meal reminds me of going to O’s games and stopping at the big dog stand with the silver hut (which doesn’t exist anymore sadly) and getting two to go to eat during the first inning. That big dog stand makes a mean pepper and onion. I think we are going on Friday (my first game of the season finally!) and I can’t wait to shove some mustard and pork in my face and finish it off with cotton candy later. So please help me root for the O’s this season (they need all the support they can get! and its in my flipping blood so I must root for the O’s for eternity) and go for the jump to see the asparagus below!!

We picked up some of the sweet Italian, which comes from a local source (M brand?) and gets sold by T.P.Farms. We steamed and seared them on low and smeared some Nathan’s on top!
DSC_0044
The asparagus was also pan seared, with a nice touch of pink salt. Well of course that pink adjective was unnecessary right there, but it actually is pink and crusty and yeah I love salt..

The peppers and onions is something I have done a couple of times, but I don’t know if I get it right. I search for the technique to get some nice caramelization…and went with this recipe, but still there needs to be some more caramelization…

Tasty farmer’s market meal for sure.

Ingredients:
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 cup thinly sliced red bell pepper
1 cup thinly sliced yellow bell pepper
1 cup vertically sliced sweet onion
1 teaspoon minced garlic
3 tsp red wine vinegar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat (well I did 10 minutes medium, 10 low, 10 more medium, this is probably the reason for more mush..). Add bell peppers and onion; cook 13 minutes or until onion is tender, stirring frequently. Add garlic, vinegar, salt, and black pepper; cook for 2 minutes, stirring frequently.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. We had the breakfast Truck Patch sausage on May 2! Sooo good!

    And I didn’t have the strawberry Minnie dessert (tears) but I did have Dole Whip–pineapple flavored soft serve. Yum. And seriously the best restaurant meal I’ve had all year at Le Cellier in Canada at Epcot. So good.

    • mmm that soft serve sounds gooooood. and really epcot?? Ned says he has had good meals there too, but that is awesome!

  2. Great Flowers BTW and that is a great picture of you….

    • Thanks née née!!!! Glad you liked the flowers!!


Leave me something sweet!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

