Cookie Making Day!!!

May 24, 2010 at 6:53 pm | Posted in Dessert, Entertainment | 6 Comments

Hello there blogosphere! Sorry I took a week reprieve, I thought I lost my camera connector and it turned out it was behind the curtains on my windowsill! That and I was really lazy, noooo busy, yeah busy that’s it. I’m back and its a good Monday. Know why? I have my good ol boss back from my old job, you know that awesome boss that helped me get my new job in Frederick??? Well he has come to Frederick too and joined the insanity that is going to take over all environmental labs in MD!! (Hi Vince, I know Joy tells you to read my blog so yeah- hi. and hi James, since I know you read my blog now too. :-D)

Okay enough about work- let’s talk about cookies. Or rather I will give you short explanations for the next forty million pictures I took that day. May 15, 2010 will go down in history as the day we made 937 Mexican wedding cookies in 6 hours. And whenever I plan (uhh Ned plans) or anyone else in my family plans on getting married, this crazy cookie making tradition will continue!!

So it all started with these two beasts (yeah Kitchenaids can be beasts can’t they??? Especially when they cranked out ten batches a piece!!)

DSC_0038
One was Auntie Martha’s and one was Mama’s. Petunia stayed home, cause we had enough manpower for one day’s work. Now go for the jump and get blown away!!

DSC_0039
So there were nuts. too many nuts actually (HAHA). Auntie Helen browned them in a pan and we needed about 20 cups of pecans. But we probably browned 60 cups…. oh well. and they went into the food processor to get all nice and small fit for a cookie.

DSC_0040

And there was flour- 6 bags.

DSC_0043
And cookie sheets, cooling racks, vanilla, and lots of cookie scoopers.

DSC_0046
And two big bags of powdered sugar and too many pecans…

DSC_0050

And then there was abuelita- rolling her little heart out. Her and Auntie Helen rolled out all 937 of them! crazy! And the dough came from me and mama (picture below) who manned the beasts.

DSC_0054

See? here’s my mama. Isn’t she just the best and cutest mama a daughter could ever ask for??? I think so. πŸ˜€

DSC_0056

And did I tell you we had a cleaning service the whole time?? It was none other but Ms. Annie Dunbar!! The newest member to our huge clan and baby dog of the upcoming newlyweds. Did I tell you how much I love her? and boy was it cute how she stayed right under grandma’s feet for about three hours doing cookie dough floor cleanup. yeah she had a sugar high and thoroughly crashed that afternoon.

DSC_0060

And did I tell you what happens after they are baked?? well they are rolled in powdered sugar- at two separate times! this was four of the five person rolling crew and boy did they roll and roll and roll.

DSC_0063

And here’s scotty– he’s an excellent roller, he’s actually an excellent baker and writer extraordinaire. Isn’t he cute?? And there in the background is Mikey. Mikey’s high school baseball team just defeated Calvert Hall to win the title!!! I am so proud of him.

DSC_0058

And here’s the mother of the groom and sista of the groom. Aren’t they cute too?? Are you starting to notice that me and my family have an obsession with being attractive and bragging?? I’m sorry I acknowledge it, its not my fault….

OKAY OKAY Back to the cookies.

DSC_0062

Here was the drying table, actually two tables. And this wasn’t even at its most filled. (see abuelita and I thought it would be okay to take a 1.5 hour shopping break to nordstroms while the cookies dried and when we came back they were done!!! ahh!!)

DSC_0110

So there is the finished product, missing some its needed powdered sugar, this one has been rolling around for awhile…. In the nice little box and bag they will be going into for the wedding! Five a box and about 190 boxes need to be put together, yeah that’s another day. Cookie Boxing Day- June 6th, 2010. Can’t wait to see them all put together and beautiful!

So here’s one last dose of cuteness: Annie Dunbar- when she’s directed to sit. What a perfect angel. πŸ˜€

DSC_0072

OH WAIT OH WAIT. You want a recipe?? This a food blog you are reading here??? You sure??

For a batch of 50 or so cookies.
One pound of butter, 1/2 cup of powdered sugar, 4 teaspoons of vanilla, 1 cup of ground pecans and 4.25 cups of flour. Mix first three until nice and fluffy and then mix in the last two ingredients. Roll into 1.5 inch balls and cook at 325 for about 22 minutes. Just until they are brown. Then roll them in more powdered sugar five minutes after they come out. And then wait an hour and then roll them again! Enjoy!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Filed under: Uncategorized — liz2024 @ 7:09 pm I just finished the cookie post!! Go click here and check them out!!   Leave a […]

  2. what fun….one thing I was sad to miss :/. Then maybe you could have taken a picture of me and described how cute I was too, hah. Excited to see everyone this weekend πŸ™‚

  3. Wow, what an undertaking. But it sounds like it was a labor of love.

  4. And you call me crazy πŸ˜‰ Well you’re crazy and amazing too!

    Now I want one of these!

  5. aw, nice of you. bet that was a fun day with the fam!

  6. Enjoy eating them…. Or drop a few off to me πŸ˜‰


Leave me something sweet!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

