Sweet Times at Serenity Tea Room

September 24, 2010 at 12:00 am | Posted in Appetizer, Dessert, Entertainment | 6 Comments

My sweet sweet godmother always takes me out for a nice lunch for my birthday. Since my birthday weekend was so jammed pack I decided for the next weekend! And because Laurita and Jen and were itching to have a girlie meal together, I decided to combine the two and have us all go out for Tea! Going for high tea holds special memories in all of our pasts. Aunt Kathy has gone for tea with her two daughters on trips in London and San Francisco. When my cousin Allison, her daughter, had her baby shower last year, it was a high tea event! And when Jen got married this summer, all of us bridesmaids accompanied the bride for a high tea luncheon after our manicures and pedicures. πŸ™‚ So we were excited for a nice treat! And that is exactly what we got at Serenity Tea Room!

DSC_0036

This establishment is a family run operation and that comforted my heart. What also comforted me was how delicious our lunch was! The daughter of the owner was in charge the day we came and told us all about her mother’s story. Apparently this place was a lifelong dream of hers and now that it had been open for five years she and her husband finally treated themselves to a first time trip to England! I hope you had a lovely time on your trip Blanch, because I had a lovely time at your tea room!

DSC_0037
The tea cups and saucers we used for lunch are part of the owner’s wide varietal collection of teacups. Each one is different and so beautiful! I got the raspberry herbal tea (caffeine is usually too much for my body to handle… can’t you tell I have enough energy without it?? or should I start using more exclamation points….!!!)

DSC_0038

And now for the multitude of tiny treats! That baby was an egg salad sandwich with chives! I gave my share to Jen (you remember I loathe eggs right?) and she gave me her share of the turkey sandwich!

DSC_0039

This was a crostini with a pesto based spread, sundried tomato and parmesan cheese. Probably my favorite savory bite of the day.

DSC_0043

And on the left you can see the mini turkey triangles and in the middle a chicken salad bite with olive. Why are mini sandwiches so darn delicious?? Got me!

DSC_0040

This was a pound cake on the left and a lemon scone on the right! So moist, so flavorful, so sweet and so perfect.

DSC_0041

See our mini tartlets? Filled with pastry cream and fresh fruit. Delightful! And there were mini pecan cookies too. Very sugary but good.

DSC_0042

Aaaah chocolate dipped strawberry. A perfect finish to the meal!

DSC_0049

Oh but wait! Since it was Laurita’s birthday that day, they made her a special treat. A brownie flower with candle. Now how thoughtful is that?? This place won me over, definitely the best tea room I have ever visited in my day!

And one more thing that made me even more at peace that afternoon… The owner took the name of the restaurant from her favorite prayer.

God, grant me the serenity
To accept the things I cannot change;
Courage to change the things I can;
And wisdom to know the difference.

I think everyone should repeat that prayer to themselves to get through tough days. So now go off friends and family and have a peaceful and relaxing weekend!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That looks fantastic! All these posts about wonderful Frederick places might convince me to come check out the town πŸ™‚

    (And happy belated birthday!)

    • Thanks Charli!!! Frederick is actually amazingly delightful. And its really only 50 minutes away from Baltimore if there isn’t traffic around the beltway!

  2. This looks lovely! I’ve only ever done high tea twice. Once in Scotland (amazing) and once at the old Petticoat Tea room in Fells Point. As I’m leaving for Disney World in 24 hours, this post makes me think about how I want tea at the Grand Floridian!

    • Ooh that would be awesome! I can’t wait to visit the Grand Floridian some day! (samantha brown shows make me oogle that place!) and going to disney world so soon after your car accident?? What a crazy weekend beth! Hope you are doing okay and have an amazing time in Florida! and say hi to the baked boys!

  3. […] loves going to tea and we have done that in a multitude of places the past year or so. We went searching for another tea place and happily stumbled upon […]

  4. […] for her birthday and realized that we have been to four different tea houses in Maryland together! Another tea shop in Frederick was too busy for a party of 6, so from recommendation from my friends Kendra and Adam, […]


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

