Bobby’s Pulled Pork

October 29, 2010 at 12:00 am | Posted in Dinner | 3 Comments

I love my cousin Bobby. I love him because he and I really started to enjoy making really good food at about the same time and those memories of us cooking together are happy ones in my mind. I also love him because he introduced me to the Avett brothers a long time ago, and their music makes me feel happy and alive. I love Bobby because he brought Jen into my life and she is one person I know I am going to enjoy having so close to me forever. And I love Bobby because he knows how to make a mean pulled pork from scratch and divulged that recipe and even made me a ton of rub to make the pork with!

DSC_0067

You see that pork?? Heavenly goodness!!! Now go see the methodology below and my open faced sandwich!

Bobby made the rub in advance as I noted. And so I bought two pork shoulders. Rinsed and dried them. Coated them with as much rub as I could (probably a cup) and then let them sit in the fridge for 6 hours. Then I turned the oven on to 250 degrees and placed each shoulder into its own roasting pan and loosely covered each with a big piece of aluminum foil. Then I let it cook for 14 hours! 14 hours! Started the oven at midnight and took them out at 2 pm. Then I let them sit at room temperature for one hour. Then Ned jumped in and started helping me pull. He cut the meat into fist size sections and then we went crazy pulling it all apart! After we pulled all of the meat I added 1.5 quarts of the carolina red sauce from Black Hog and put the whole thing back in the oven on its lowest temperature. After an hour most of the carolina sauce had been absorbed into the meat and so I used the last 1/2 quart and poured that atop the meat. Then stuck it back in the oven. The guests arrived for my big housewarming party at about 6 pm and the pulled pork was perfect! For about 28 people, 1/4 of it was left at the end of our shindig. And that my friends is a very good thing. Enough to feed everyone very cost effectively and enough for Jenn (my roomate Jenn) and I to have meals the rest of the week!

DSC_0068

So this sandwich was a rest of the week version. I also want to tell you about the coleslaw. I know how easy it can be to shred cabbage and carrots, etc. But I just wasn’t having it…probably cause I was raised on bag coleslaw mix! For three bags of coleslaw I used about 3 cups of mayo, 4 tsp of celery seed, 2 tsp ground mustard, 3 tbsps sugar, 3 tbsps apple cider vinegar and salt&pepper. Then if you let it set for one hour, then you can add almost a whole other bag of coleslaw and the liquids to cabbage ratio will be perfect!

DSC_0071

So here is my open faced sandwich. Toasted roll+pork+coleslaw+black hog carolina barbeque sauce = Perfection. I am so proud of myself for finally making my favorite dish in the world from scratch!!! and Bobby? Maybe you could post a rough version of the ingredients of your rub??

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Elizabeth, I’ve got 4 pounds of pork shoulder waiting for me to turn it into some slow cooked goodness tomorrow.

    • Yummmmm. What kind of sauce you going to use?

  2. […] then there was pork. I made it with this method – Bobby’s Pulled Pork. I had about a cup of his rub leftover in my pantry so I used all of that up! It was perfect for […]


Leave me something sweet!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

