Pioneer Woman Cooks: Chili!

November 1, 2010 at 12:00 am | Posted in Cookbooks, Dinner | 2 Comments

I will now divulge one of my pet peeves: having too many things in the freezer/pantry! Maybe its cause I’m cheap/frugal and/or creative. I find much joy by finding recipes that will help to use up ingredients just sitting around the kitchen! So when my Auntie Helen said she would be making chili for a bridesmaids event I got thinking that I should make some chili for my roomate Jenn and I! Jenn had a pound of frozen turkey in the freezer and I had a big can of tomato sauce and can of diced tomatoes in the pantry. So with that I ran, by first stopping at my pioneer woman cookbook and then off to Common Market!

DSC_0136

Don’t you love that blue crock?? My roomate apparently “borrowed” it from a former roomate of hers and now I’ve been using it every time I eat this chili! Something about it just screams country and home cookin. And atop the chili I put sour cream and shredded cheese. For the recipe please go here, but to see my additions go below!

I chopped up two jalapenos, seeds removed.

DSC_0127

Then I took some maseca (corn flour and a staple in my mexican kitchen!)

DSC_0130

Here’s the masa mushed up with some water.

DSC_0128

And the token cookbook recipe shot. See the chili is made for cowboys! Apparently I think I’m a cowboy. πŸ˜›

DSC_0131

Three additions I used in their cans. I also used a big can of tomato sauce, I mean a BIG can! and cooked it down to evaporate some of the liquid from that. Because of that I didn’t have to use extra water like Ree said in her recipe.

DSC_0132

Here’s the tomato, ground turkey, garlic and spices mixture cooking down!

DSC_0133

And then once the sauce and meat was done (about an hour later) I added in these fixings!

DSC_0135

and voila! Dinner for me and lunch for Jenn for 5 days! suhhhweeet!!

DSC_0139

Oh you want to know how it tasted?? Well mine was spicy, cause of the jalapenos I would think… But the sour cream and cheese cut that spiciness a bit so thats good. I love the texture of the meat and the flavor of the beans. I love that she uses masa to make the whole thing a bit thicker. I think I can taste the corn flavor from the masa, but I’m not so sure! This recipe is definitely going in the books as my standby, cause I think it tastes good and really it was pretty simple to prepare! Just takes two hours total time to make, but only like 30 minutes of actual work!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Elizabeth, the weather is finally cooling off which must mean it’s chili and stew season!

  2. I love PW’s chicken chili…there’s something about the cornmeal!


Leave me something sweet!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

