Obsessed with Nick’s Scones

March 7, 2011 at 12:16 pm | Posted in Brunch, Dessert | 9 Comments

See that lovely scone footage before you??? That my friends is a recipe I have deemed worthy to give out to my friends and family! Even though this recipe is not from Nick’s newest cookbook, I am happy that I am using his recipe. He was such a lovely man to meet and maybe shaking his hand gave me some more baking skills? (hahaha)

DSC_0102

I love using the dried fruit in this recipe, I feel like it makes it nice and healthy and using the oatmeal kicks up the health a bit too. The cinnamon and sugar topping on top really clinched it for me though, when you heat up the scone in the microwave the smell of cinnamon really gets into the air! So go for the jump and see how I made them (third time) this past Saturday morning.

I really do love baking on Saturday morning. I love the calm and quiet and being able to make something tasty to eat for breakfast and love being able to spread these baked goods around to the people I love.

So I started with pineapple. Whats funny about the pineapple in the recipe is that once its cooked in the scones it kind of has a texture of apple!

DSC_0057

I made some buttermilk with my local milk and vinegar.

DSC_0059

This is the topping. Jana gave me this pink sugar awhile back, love it.

DSC_0060

And the meat of the scone!

DSC_0061

And the lusciousness of the scone. It would not be this good without this Wegmans butter!

DSC_0064

Fruit with the dry ingredients… then in went the milk and voila the dough was done! And this is probably why I love this recipe – all of the ingredients just go into the food processor and 2 minutes later – the dough is ready to shape and then 5 minutes after that ready to go into the oven!

DSC_0069

And out comes these beauties. Oh yum.

DSC_0105

Oat Fruit Scones
Adapted from How to Bake by Nick Malgieri. I changed up the ingredients a bit more from my source.

1 1/2 c. flour
1 1/2 c. oats
1/3 c. light brown sugar
1 Tb. baking powder
1/2 ts. baking soda
1 ts. salt
8 Tb. (1 stick) cold unsalted butter
1/2 c. coarsely chopped dried pineapple
1/2 c. coarsely chopped dried cranberries
1/2 c. coarely chopped cherries
1 c. buttermilk, plus more for brushing tops
1 Tb. sugar mixed with 1/4 ts. ground cinnamon

Set a rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 450.

Combine dry ingredients in the bowl of a food processor. Pulse 5 times.

Cut the butter into 12 pieces, add to the bowl, and pulse 12 times, until the mixture resembles fine meal. Add the dried fuit and cup of milk and pulse 3 or 4 times to form a very soft dough.

Generously flour your work surface, turn the dough out onto it, and fold it over on itself 3 or 4 times, until it is less sticky.

Make one large disc and cut it into 8-12 wedges (don’t separate them) or make two discs, cutting each into 4 or 6 wedges, depending on how big you want your scones. Brush top with buttermilk and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.

Bake scones for 15-20 minutes, until they are golden and firm. Be careful not to overbake.  ** For this third batch I have made, I did the two disks and cut into 6 from each disk and separated them. Each scone was pretty small, but for serving size help, I think its better that way! Cooked for about 17 minutes.

DSC_0110

Also in this picture is my latest obsession. Twine and with twine comes crafts! Been doing lots of shower (baby and bridal) shower crafts and am loving it! That twine will probably last me my whole life! But it was so worth getting a nice big one.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love a good scone. I should make some soon…perhaps after I make their cousin, soda bread, for St. Pat’s next week!

    • that sounds like a plan! You know I don’t think I’ve ever tasted soda bread

  2. Mmmm. Those scones look good. I especially love your twined goody bags. I so want to be a recipient!

    • Thanks Tricia! Someday tricia, we will be “neighbors” sooner than later!

  3. As the recipient of one of the beautifully twined packages of scones, I can vouch that they were absolutely delicious! I mean, REALLY delicious. (hint, hint)

  4. OOOOOOOOOOO those look really yummy. I’ll have to give em a try.

  5. These scones look so fruity and delicious. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your scones up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/03/sweets-for-saturday-8.html


Leave me something sweet!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

