Birthday Tea for Jen at Julia Faye’s!

April 29, 2011 at 12:00 am | Posted in Brunch, Dessert, Travels | 3 Comments

It is very fitting today that I am posting about tea! Because if you are reading this around 5 am, I am sitting in my bed watching the Royal Wedding, while drinking tea and eating these shortbread cookies (spiced up with vanilla sugar and earl grey tea flakes!)

We had a lovely birthday tea celebration back in the beginning of the month for my cousin Jen. Did I tell you how much I love Jen? She’s the best, she’s been my partner in crime for baking, shopping, organizing, creative thinking for almost two years now and I am so happy she’s my cousin now!!!

She loves going to tea and we have done that in a multitude of places the past year or so. We went searching for another tea place and happily stumbled upon Tea by Julia Faye. This tea house is super close to where Jen lives so it was perfect for her birthday celebration!

DSC_0321

Nestled in a cool old house near Cylburn Arboretum, Julia has decorated the space up nicely. And the food was just as beautiful as the decor and ambiance! Go check it out!

Tea is to the left!

DSC_0322

And so we got the Stone Mansion Tea with a pot of tea per person, scones and biscuits,  salad, assorted tea sandwiched and sweets! Quite the menu!

Here were our scones and biscuits. Cheddar biscuit and bluberry scone with a pretty skewer of fruit and cheese.

DSC_0333

My beautiful tea pot.

DSC_0332

And some pink scarlet herbal tea.

DSC_0329

Our salad; perfectly dressed and loved the cranberries and tomato.

DSC_0340

On to the sandwiches! A shrimp salad on perfectly doughy roll.

DSC_0341

Chicken salad on croissant and a baguette slice with cream cheese and tomato and cucumber.

DSC_0347

But then the best part came! Dessert! I loved the trays that she served our food on. On the left was a butternut squash tartlet…

DSC_0349

Then we had a cheesecake square and a mini red velvet cupcake. The red velvet cupcake addition was perfect for Jen because that’s her favorite!!!

DSC_0351

Sisters and cousin’s high tea. Wonderful!

DSC_0358

And I got them to do a mini photo shoot, because they do look like models right? Love my beautiful family members!

DSC_0367

Please make sure you go here for a fun ladies’ day out or treat for mom or grandma!

And I hope you enjoyed watching the Royal Wedding as much as I did! (I went on speakerphone with my mum for most of it!)

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Looks like a lovely tea! We had shortbread at our work tea party this morning!

    • Nice! This morning was the most fun thing I have ever watched before 8 am!

  2. […] and especially for me a close friend. It is also no secret that Jen loves to go to tea! We went here last year for her birthday and realized that we have been to four different tea houses in Maryland […]


Leave me something sweet!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

