Chocolate Chip Cookies for the Birthday Cookie Monster

June 3, 2011 at 7:00 am | Posted in Dessert | 3 Comments

Yep, Stevie is a cookie monster, but so am I, so its okay that I call him that. His “29th” birthday was last week and I promised him a sweet treat! Somewhere on Pinterest I had seen a Nutella cookie made with yogurt and that sparked my interest. A cookie made with yogurt?? I had to try it. Fortunately or unfortunately I did not have any Nutella, but I did have the ingredients for a chocolate chip cookie and so I went. I found this recipe from Little Bitty Bakes and decided to change it up a wee bit.

DSC_0064

I bumped up the brown sugar aspect of it and used vanilla chobani to bump up the flavor on that end too. What resulted was a perfect little cookie right out of the oven. A crispy shell with a gooey inside. The whole crispy shell part evaporated (or melted??) by the next morning though. But what eventually got to Stevie’s mouth when he had them two days later was a gooey chocolate chip cookie with good flavor and that is all I could ask for! Happy Belated Birthday Stevie! Thanks for being a great blog supporter and coworker!

So yep instead of egg, yogurt went into the pot. (The pot?? What am I talking about! It was actually the silver bowl that Petunia holds so dearly… (yep, I am still off my rocker, must have been that nice long weekend and this nice long weekend coming up! That’s right! I’m in Buffalo right now for Ned’s little sister Emily’s wedding!))

DSC_0057

Mmmmm chobani. I might have confessed my love for Chobani on this blog before, but here I am again to tell you. I love this flavor with mini chocolate chips stirred in and a small swish of Hershey’s chocolate syrup. I call that my kinda sorta good replacement for ice cream. Because in addition to being the cookie monster, I love me some ice cream too!

Brown sugar is good too, especially on cream of wheat. But thats not what we were eating here today, we were eating cookies!

DSC_0058

And butta. Just a little bit. Which is good, because after calculating the caloric value of this recipe it came to about 89 calories per cookie (if you make 24 from the dough!)Β  That is one healthy cookie!

DSC_0061

Plop. Love my cookie scooper, and my silpats.

DSC_0062

After all that plopping was done, i took to the bowl with my spatula and it went right in my mouth. Yummmm. The good thing about this cookie dough is that it is egg free! So you can eat all the cookie dough you want and not worry about getting sick. Although usually when I eat a lot of cookie dough I still feel kinda sick.. what’s up with that???

DSC_0063

Here’s the recipe… I intend on making this again! And especially if I want to make cookie dough to go on some other thing for decoration. Like a cupcake perhaps?

Ingredients:
1/4 cup butter, softened
1 cup brown sugar
1 (6 oz.) container Chobani Vanilla Greek yogurt
1/2 tbsp. vanilla extract
1 1/2 to 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

Heat oven to 350 degrees F. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugars until fluffy. Add yogurt and vanilla, and beat until smooth.

In a separate medium mixing bowl, mix flour, baking soda, and salt. Gradually add dry mixture to wet mixture, mixing until combined. Stir in white chocolate chips.

Drop cookie dough by rounded tablespoons onto prepared cookie sheets. Bake 10 to 13 minutes, until golden brown. Cool slightly before removing cookies from sheets; set onto wire cookie racks to cool completely.

DSC_0068

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. As a cookie monster myself, I cannot wait to try this recipe. I’m always looking for a different slant of choc chips. I’ve never had Chobani. Gotta try your mini ‘sundae’ idea, too.

  2. It’s the crazy yogurt cookies!!

    They look delish!


Leave me something sweet!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

