Birthday Tea for Jen at Cafe Anglais!

April 13, 2012 at 7:00 am | Posted in Dessert, Lunch | 3 Comments

It is no secret that I love my cousin Jen. Her husband, my actual cousin, Bobby was one smart guy to marry her and he gave the rest of our family the gift of a wonderful family member and especially for me a close friend. It is also no secret that Jen loves to go to tea! We went here last year for her birthday and realized that we have been to four different tea houses in Maryland together! Another tea shop in Frederick was too busy for a party of 6, so from recommendation from my friends Kendra and Adam, we decided to go to Cafe Anglaise!

Untitled

I would definitely say this place is traditional, and not especially “girlie.” The owner Michael was very gracious and obviously British. The tea house has a nice relaxed atmosphere and the food was good! Not outstanding, but very good. Go for the jump to see more pictures!

Black Tea with Cream!

Untitled

Ah rosy teacups with hot tea. That is exactly how I like to spend Saturday afternoons.Β  And as I just read in Matchbook Magazine, “There are few hours in life more agreeable than the hour dedicated to the ceremony known as afternoon tea.” – Henry James, the Portrait of a Lady

Untitled

For the afternoon tea lunch, we had three sandwich selections: cucumber, egg and tuna salad. Simple flavors, simple bread, simple but nice!

Untitled

Jen and I traded my egg salad for her tuna salad. That’s what friends are for!

Untitled

Then for the scone course, the birthday candle came out!!! A very nice touch. πŸ˜€

Untitled

Yummmmm scones with jam and clotted cream. A perfectly delicious scone.

Untitled

Lastly, was the dessert course! I think my favorite was the unassuming biscuit. The chocolate eclair and fruit tart were just as you would expect them to be! The raisin tart was a little too raisin-ey for my taste though.

Untitled

As I said, we had a nice afternoon with nice food and lots and lots of black tea! Hope Jen had a good birthday weekend! We spent the rest of the afternoon browsing our favorite shops around town… Tiara Day, Muse, and Silk and Burlap.

Untitled

Can’t wait for our next girlie trip around town!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. omg i need to go here STAT!!!!

    • Haha!! Yes you do.

  2. Looks like fun times πŸ™‚ I love cucumber and cream cheese sandwiches!


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

