Early dinner at Loco Hombre

July 25, 2011 at 11:31 am | Posted in Appetizer, Dinner | 7 Comments

This past weekend was a family weekend for sure! Grandpa (Abuelito) got heart valve replacement on Thursday and so everyone’s time and efforts were spent at the hospital since then! Jen and Bobby just left to go on a two city tour of Europe (London and Paris, LUCKY DUCKS!!), but before they left we all wanted to go see Abuelito at the hospital. We couldn’t get in until 8 pm on Friday night because he was still in the ICU, so we decided to hit up Loco Hombre for dinner!

DSC_0218

It was kinda on my way in to the city (I avoid 695 like the plague on Friday evenings, so I take the city route!) and a wee bit south from their house in Towson. I think I might have had a drink there once a million years ago, but this was the first time I dined there! And so Bob and Jen were willing to put up with my photography for the evening and we had a super cute and nice server named Scott. (Yup, I’m single now world! Watch out!) Go for the jump to see more tasty treats…

I started out with the seasonal beer on the menu. Nice to go local! Definitely had a peach vibe to it, but don’t know if I like the Malt aspect of it. Very refreshing for a very hot day though.

DSC_0222

Cool menu logo.

DSC_0221

While I was waiting for Bob and Jen to arrive I ordered some chips and salsa. Very good chips, perfectly salty and I loved all the colors.

DSC_0228

It came with a trio of salsas, this one looked like a tomatillo salsa but actually tasted sweet.. so that was strange to my tastebuds…

DSC_0225

The next one had good deep flavor, but also had the addition of olives… what??

DSC_0224

I liked this fresh one!

DSC_0223

Then for dinner we decided on one entree and one appetizer for the three of us!

The appetizer we chose was the nachos. Oh my these are good nachos. Jen really liked to remark that there was a bit of cheese, etc, on EVERY chip! Banana peppers, sour cream, guacamole, fresh salsa and lots and lots of cheese.

DSC_0229

And for the entree we got the pork tacos. Very wise choice. It came with rice and beans, which were standard fare.

DSC_0235

The pork had really good flavor and we loved the pickled vegetables and with the cilantro and crumbly white cheese (queso fresco?) it was great.

DSC_0231

Oh gosh I want one right now! Guess it’s time for me to eat lunch…  Good food, good service. It’s a perfect little neighborhood gem.

Loco Hombre on Urbanspoon

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Loco Hombre was one of the first places I hung out in Baltimore, but I haven’t been there in YEARS!

  2. These pictures are gorgeous!!!!

    • Thanks Nakiya!! It’s all about that nice afternoon light!!

  3. I have heard good things about that place! And I’m hoping your Granddad’s surgery went well. xox And it’s fun to be single, huh??

    • Ohh, and I miss Brewer’s Art… just thinking of B’more restaurants. 🙂

      • Yeah I agree. It’s been too long for me too! Though I did have some rezzy’s two weeks ago at Hamilton Tavern. yummmm

    • Yeah he’s doing great!! Single ladies unite!! Of course its funny cause the latest new suitor is named Mike. Now isn’t that weird??


Leave me something sweet!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.